What the new MLS schedule means for you, the NBC/NBCSN viewer

7 Comments

Along with the full schedule, Major League Soccer’s given us the lowdown on which games will be on national television. Us being part of the NBC Sports Group, we thought we’d take a moment to highlight what NBC and NBC Sports Network have in store for 2013.

This season, NBC will have another 41 regular season games (three NBC, 38 NBCSN) brought to you by the same team: Arlo White will be back as the play-by-play man; Kyle Martino will be between the benches; while Ross Thaler will return as your host.

The broadcast season begins opening night on NBCSN with a rematch of last year’s Eastern Conference final – Houston Dynamo hosting D.C. United on March 2.

The first NBC broadcast will kickoff Rivalry Week when the New York Red Bulls welcome D.C. United to Red Bull Arena on March 16, the first three MLS matches the NBC network will broadcast that Saturday. Sporting KC-Chicago and Seattle-Portland follow on NBCSN.

The entire NBC/NBCSN schedule is attached, though you may want to bookmark this page. That gives you all the details.

NBC SPORTS GROUP 2013 MLS SCHEDULE:

Date Away Home Times ET Network

Sat. Mar. 2 D.C. United Houston 8 PM NBCSN

Sun. Mar. 9 New England Chicago 7:30 PM NBCSN

Sat. Mar. 16 D.C. United New York 12:30 PM NBC

Sat. Mar. 16 Chicago Kansas City 3 PM NBCSN

Sat. Mar. 16 Portland Seattle TBD NBCSN

Sat. Mar. 23 Columbus D.C. United 3:30 PM NBCSN

Sat. Mar. 30 Philadelphia New York 3:30 PM NBCSN

Sat. Apr. 6 Real Salt Lake Colorado 3:30 PM NBCSN

Sat. Apr. 13 LA Galaxy Dallas 3:30 PM NBCSN

Sun. Apr. 14 San Jose Portland 10:30 PM NBCSN

Sat. Apr. 20 Kansas City LA Galaxy 10:30 PM NBCSN

Sat. Apr. 27 Chicago Montreal 4 PM NBCSN

Sat. May 4 New York Columbus 4 PM NBCSN

Sat. May 11 Philadelphia Chicago 1:30 PM NBCSN

Sun. May 26 Houston Kansas City 3:30 PM NBCSN

Sun. June 2 LA Galaxy New England 4 PM NBCSN

Sun. June 23 Colorado Portland 7 PM NBCSN

Sat. June 29 Dallas Philadelphia 5:30 PM NBCSN

Sat. July 6 Seattle Vancouver 11 PM NBCSN

Sat. July 13 LA Galaxy Portland 11 PM NBCSN

Sat. July 20 Colorado Seattle 11 PM NBCSN

Sat. July 27 Chicago Houston 8 PM NBCSN

Sat. Aug. 3 New York Kansas City 8 PM NBCSN

Sat. Aug. 10 D.C. United Philadelphia 8 PM NBCSN

Sat. Aug. 17 Philadelphia New York 8 PM NBCSN

Fri. Aug. 23 Kansas City Chicago 8:30 PM NBCSN

Fri. Aug. 30 Portland Real Salt Lake 10 PM NBCSN

Sat. Aug. 31 D.C. United New York 8 PM NBCSN

Sat. Sept. 7 Chicago Seattle 10 PM NBCSN

Fri. Sept. 13 Real Salt Lake Seattle 10 PM NBCSN

Fri. Sept. 20 Colorado Portland 10 PM NBCSN

Sat. Sept. 21 Seattle LA Galaxy 10:30 PM NBCSN

Fri. Sept. 27 Philadelphia Kansas City 8 PM NBCSN

Sun. Sept. 29 LA Galaxy Portland 3:30 PM NBC

Fri. Oct. 4 Chicago D.C. United 8 PM NBCSN

Sat. Oct. 5 Seattle Colorado 10 PM NBCSN

Fri. Oct. 18 D.C. United Kansas City 8 PM NBCSN

Sat. Oct. 19 Seattle Dallas 4 PM NBCSN

Sat. Oct. 26 Kansas City Philadelphia 3 PM NBCSN

Sat. Oct. 26 Dallas San Jose 5:30 PM NBCSN

Sun. Oct. 27 Houston D.C. United 1:30 PM NBC

UCL AT HALF: Bale scores; Spurs lead, Man City and Reds level (video)

AP Photo/Michael Probst
Leave a comment

Two Premier League sides are level, Spurs lead, and Real Madrid has luckily kept a Gareth Bale-authored lead thanks to some goofy officiating on the second match day of group stage play at the UEFA Champions League.

[ LIVE: Champions League scores ] 


Sevilla 2-0 Maribor

Wissam Ben Yedder has goals in both of Sevilla’s UCL qualifiers and now both group stage matches after netting a 27th minute marker in Spain. He’s added another before the break.

Spartak Moscow 1-1 Liverpool

Loris Karius will not enjoy the replay of a 23rd minute free kick given away by Philippe Coutinho, and he especially won’t enjoy his slow reaction to a free kick from Fernando (not that Fernando) which was not hit too near a post.

Coutinho made amends with a solidly struck equalizer just after the half-hour mark, working a 1-2 with Mane and lacing a shot beyond the hopes of Rebrov.

Besiktas 2-0 RB Leipzig

A man with a Liverpool connection is on the board in the form of Ryan Babel, and Anderson Talisca added a marker before halftime to double the Turkish side’s lead.

Manchester City 0-0 Shakhtar Donetsk

Fairly even at the Etihad Stadium, with Kevin De Bruyne missing a solid chance and Ederson denying Marlos at the other end.

Borussia Dortmund 0-1 Real Madrid

Gareth Bale’s 18th minute goal has the double-defending champions up at the Westfalenstadion.

By the way, this was somehow not a penalty:

 

Napoli 1-0 Feyenoord

A sneaky side to watch in the tournament, Napoli leads through Lorenzo Insigne.

Monaco 0-1 Porto

Cameroon star Vincent Aboubakar scores against Ligue 1 opposition.

APOEL Nicosia 0-1 Tottenham Hotspur

Harry Kane, guys and girls. The English striker beat an offside trap to a Toby Alderweireld pass and bested the keeper in the 39th minute.

LIVE – UCL: Liverpool, Tottenham, Man City all in action

Getty Images
Leave a comment

Three Premier League teams are in UEFA Champions League action on Tuesday in their second games of the 2017-18 group stage.

[ LIVE: Champions League scores ] 

Tottenham Hotspur head to Cyprus to face APOEL in Nicosia hoping to make it two wins from two, while Manchester City host Ukrainian outfit Shakhtar Donetsk aiming to keep their 100 percent record and Liverpool are in Moscow to play Spartak hoping for a first win of the group stage.

Elsewhere Real Madrid head to Borussia Dortmund (Christian Pulisic alert) in a mouth-watering clash at the Westfalenstadion and Napoli host Feyenoord in another eye-catching tie.

Click on the link above to follow commentary on all the action, while below is the full schedule as we will have reaction and analysis on all the UCL action on Tuesday.

All games kick off at 2:45 p.m. ET.


Tuesday’s UCL schedule

Group E
Spartak Moscow vs. Liverpool
Sevilla vs. Maribor

Group F
Manchester City vs. Shakhtar Donetsk
Napoli vs. Feyenoord

Group G
Monaco vs. FC Porto
Besiktas vs. RB Leipzig

Group H
APOEL vs. Tottenham Hotspur
Borussia Dortmund vs. Real Madrid

VIDEO: Top Premier League goals – Week 6

Leave a comment

From Fabian Delph‘s curler to Alvaro Morata’s surging run and dink and from Philippe Coutinho‘s perfect free kick to Leroy Sane’s delicate touches.

Boy, did we have some fine strikes in the Premier League in Week 6.

[ LIVE: Stream every Premier League game

Click play on the video above to see the best of the bunch and let us know your favorite in the comments section below.

“What is your favorite?” I hear you cry. Settle down, settle down. I love a good curler which clips off the bar and in so I’m going with Delphy’s goal against Crystal Palace. Sublime.

PHOTO: New USMNT jersey for 2018 World Cup leaked?

Getty Images
1 Comment

Now, of course, they have to qualify first.

But if Bruce Arena’s men do make the 2018 World Cup in Russia they could be wearing this beauty in the photo below.

[ VIDEO: Premier League highlights

With all leaked jerseys there is a real possibility it could turn out to look completely different but information from Conrad Burry of Sportslogos over the weekend suggested something along these lines.

Take a look at the photo below of the home jersey (the away jersey is said to be “Midnight Navy with a second color of Blue Nebula”) and let us know what you think.