The latest episode of “That’s our CONCACAF”: Two takes for the Champions League draw


Cruz Azul drawn with LA Galaxy?

Club Tijuana grouped with Houston Dynamo?

Ah, man. Sucks for the Galaxy and Dynamo — that’s a tough draw — but they have a chance. Besides, they’ll get two really good games. Their gans will get a marquee match at home. Who knows when CONCACAF changed the rules preventing Major League Soccer entrants from being group with Liga MX’s, but it must have happened. After all, these clubs were drawn together.

Thing is, the rules hadn’t changed, and it was only after the initial draw of 24 teams into eight, three-team groups that CONCACAF realized they’d screwed up. So after doing it all over again, the Mexican and U.S.-based MLS clubs finally knew who they’ll face first in 2013-14’s Champions League:

Group 1
Arabe Unido (Panama)
Houston Dynamo (United States)
W Connection (Caribbean/Trinidad & Tobago)

Group 2
Olimpia (Honduras)
Sporting Kansas City (United States)
Real Esteli (Nicaragua)

Group 3
Herediano (Costa Rica)
Cruz Azul (Mexico)
Valencia (Caribbean/Haiti)

Group 4
America (Mexico)
Alajuelense (Costa Rica)
Sporting San Miguelito (Panama)

Group 5
San Jose Earthquakes (United States)
Montreal Impact (Canada)
To be determined Guatemalan team

Group 6
Comunicaciones (Guatemala)
Toluca (Mexico)
Caledonia FC (Caribbean/Trinidad & Tobago)

Group 7
Club Tijuana (Mexico)
Victoria (Honduras)
Luis Angel Firpo (El Salvador)

Group 8
LA Galaxy (United States)
Isidro Metapan (El Salvador)
Cartagines (Costa Rica)

For MLS fans, it’s always interesting to see where Canada’s representative is drawn. This year, a struggling San Jose team has the misfortune of being put in the same group as the surging impact.

Houston appears to have a manageable (read: easy) draw in Group A, Olimpia is tricky but manageable for Sporting in Group B, while LA gets Isidro Metapan for the second straight year.

I’m not picking the Salvadorians this time.