Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup final: just the facts

1 Comment
  • Kickoff on Tuesday from Rio Tinto Stadium in suburban Sandy, Utah, is set for 9 p.m. ET (7 p.m. locally in Utah)
  • It’s live on GolTV; there is no streaming option available
  • The U.S. Open Cup is a single-elimination tournament open to all professional and amateur clubs. It is the oldest ongoing national soccer competition in the United States and among the world’s longest-running competitions
  • This is the tournament’s 100th (centennial) edition
  • Tuesday’s winner receives $250,000; the runner-up receives $60,000
  • The Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup is named for one of the pioneers of the professional soccer in the United States. Lamar Hunt owned the Dallas Tornado of the old NASL, and then became one of the first and most influential owners of Major League Soccer. He also built the land’s first major soccer venue, Crew Stadium
  • D.C. United has two U.S. Open Cup crowns, plus two runner-up appearances
  • D.C. United can become the third MLS team to win three U.S. Open Cup titles; The Chicago Fire has four, while the Seattle Sounders have three
  • Real Salt Lake is appearing in its first U.S. Open Cup final
  • RSL manager Jason Kreis won the U.S. Open Cup as a player with the Dallas Burn in 2997. But assistant coach C.J. Brown has four Open Cup crowns from his playing days with the Chicago Fire (1998, 2000, 2003 and 2006)
  • Semifinal and final sites were determined by coin flip
  • Bigger names may shine Tuesday night, but RSL rookie Devon Sandoval leads RSL in Open Cup scoring this year with three goals
  • D.C. United’s biggest player, Dwayne De Rosario has struggled in MLS action with just three goals all year. He does, however, lead the team in Open Cup scoring with five goals.

(MORE: Match preview, Real Salt Lake vs. D.C. United)

(MORE: A domestic soccer “Treble” could loom, but this is the first box to check)

(MORE: Where would a United win rank among Open Cup upsets?)