The big decision in Houston: was Dynamo’s Kofi Sarkodie offside or not? (Video)

9 Comments

Most everyone who watched as Sporting Kansas City and the Houston Dynamo wrestled their weary selves to scoreless stalemate Saturday in Texas will agree that the game was a dog.

Real scoring chances were all but non-existent as two teams on rubbery legs played it thus: one parts physical, one parts tactically cautious. The result was small stew, just six total shots on target.

(MORE: What we learned from Saturday’s scoreless draw)

But what might have happened had Kofi Sarkodie, Houston’s right back who had been put through so cleverly by Omar Cummings, scored on that first-half opportunity – a first-half opportunity that wasn’t, that is?

Because game officials ruled Sarkodie offside. Was he? (The moment in question is at the 1:50 mark.)

.

.

Here is what Houston manager Dominic Kinnear had to say: “That’s a close one, it’s really, really close. In fast play the referee sees it one way, could he be onside, could he be off; it’s a bit of a coin flip. That’s the way it goes”.

Sarkodie and Cummings talked about how it might have opened up the match here:

.