Hermann Trophy semi-finalists announced

1 Comment

MLS Super Draft fans and supporters of the NCAA college game laid their eyes Tuesday on the 30 final names vying for the 2013 MAC Hermann Award as the nation’s top male and female players. It’s a prestigious award that’s gone to names like Reyna, Friedel and Lalas as well as Nagbe, Hamm and Sinclair.

Reigning men’s winner Patrick Mullins of Maryland is considered a favorite to repeat after posting a 16-goal campaign this season. The Terps are one of eight teams still alive in the NCAA Tournament along with California, UConn, Virginia, Notre Dame, Michigan State, New Mexico and Washington.

Harrison Shipp of Notre Dame could rival Mullins, with the Fighting Irish still alive and his posting of 12 goals and 8 assists, while Israeli forward Sagi Lev-Ari of Cal State – Northridge is a darkhorse after posting  31 goals over two seasons.

Also on the men’s list:

Andre Blake (GK), Connecticut
Steven Birnbaum (CB), Cal-Berkeley
AJ Cochran (CB), Wisconsin
Taylor Peay (CB), Washington
Kyle Venter (CB), New Mexico
Laurie Bell (M), Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Aodhan Quinn (M), Akron
Pedro Ribeiro (M), Coastal Carolina
Leo Stolz (M), UCLA
Pete Caringi III (F), UMBC
Tim Hopkinson (F), Old Dominion
Steve Neumann (F), Georgetown

Check out the women’s list on the full press release here.