Adnan Januzaj makes Belgium’s 24-man provisional roster, no Nainggolan


Adnan Januzaj has made it onto the 24-man provisional roster for Belgium’s 2014 World Cup run just months after declaring his commitment to head coach Marc Wilmots’ side.

He’ll slide into a sneaky good Belgian unit that did not have room for Roma engine room stalwart Radja Nainggolan, joining a midfield with Manchester United teammate Marouane Fellaini and fellow Premier Leaguers Kevin Mirallas, Mousa Dembele and Nacer Chadli.

MORE: All the latest news on World Cup rosters

There’s no room for 93-times capped Club Brugge captain Timmy Simons, 37, and PSV Eindhoven teenager Zakkaria Bakali could not make the cut. Torino goalkeeper Jean-Francois Gillet is also off the unit.

Goalkeepers: Thibaut Courtois (Atletico Madrid, on loan from Chelsea), Simon Mignolet (Liverpool), Koen Casteels (Hoffenheim), Silvio Proto (Anderlecht).

Defenders: Toby Alderweireld (Atletico Madrid), Laurent Ciman (Standard Liege), Nicolas Lombaerts (Zenit St Petersburg), Vincent Kompany (Manchester City), Daniel Van Buyten (Bayern Munich), Anthony Vanden Borre (Anderlecht), Thomas Vermaelen (Arsenal), Jan Vertonghen (Tottenham).

Midfielders: Nacer Chadli (Tottenham), Mousa Dembele (Tottenham), Steven Defour (Porto), Kevin De Bruyne (Wolfsburg), Marouane Fellaini (Manchester United), Adnan Januzaj (Manchester United), Eden Hazard (Chelsea), Kevin Mirallas (Everton), Divock Origi (Lille), Axel Witsel (Zenit St Petersburg).

Forwards: Romelu Lukaku (Everton, on loan from Chelsea), Dries Mertens (Napoli).

Standby: Sebastien Pocognoli (Hannover), Radja Nainggolan (Roma), Thorgan Hazard (Zulte Waregem, on loan from Chelsea), Guillaume Gillet (Anderlecht), Michy Batshuayi (Standard Liege), Jelle Van Damme (Standard Liege).