WATCH: Landon Donovan reacts to Chris Wondolowski’s late miss against Belgium

18 Comments

Did you think that late Chris Wondolowski chance was going in, too? You’re not the only one.

Whether the goal would have counted or not (there are conflicting reports), there was a moment at the end of regulation when every United States Men’s National Team fan thought the smash-and-grab was in full effect. One Geoff Cameron lob. One Jermaine Jones header. And one Chris Wondolowski finish … that wasn’t. The shot went well over the bar, but the U.S. that close to breaking Belgian hearts before ultimately losing in extra time, 2-1.

Watching the game some six thousand miles away, Landon Donovan was one of us. As ESPN Sportscenter’s Instagram captured, the U.S.’s all-time leading scorer thought his team was into quarterfinals once more. And just like the rest of us, he was momentarily left asking what could have possibly gone wrong.

Wondolowski’s chance came in second half stoppage time. On the broadcast, ESPN’s Ian Darke announced the goal would not have counted, noting the assistant referee’s flag was up. Conflicting reports have said the goal would have counted, likely sending the U.S. into the quarterfinals.