US Open Cup path to the final is set: Railhawks, Silverbacks alive


The 2014 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup revealed its paths to the final on Monday.

The two NASL teams remaining, Atlanta and Carolina, face very different routes if they want to cap their Cinderella runs through the tournament, while MLS sides Chicago, Philadelphia and New England would need to take to the road for the semis.

Here’s how it breaks down.

Semifinal 1: Philadelphia Union/New England Revolution winner -at- FC Dallas/Carolina Railhawks winner

Semifinal 2: Chicago Fire/Atlanta Silverbacks winner -at- Seattle Sounders/Portland Timbers winner.

For a list of the potential dates and locations for the semifinals, head here.

Whoever emerges from the Sounders/Timbers tussle will host a team making a cross-country trip, while Carolina still has a chance to host a semifinal match if it can knock of FC Dallas in Cary, N.C. on Wednesday.

The Railhawks have already upset Chivas USA and the L.A. Galaxy.

As for the quarterfinals, the Union play the Revs on July 8, while the remaining three matches will all be played on July 9 (Atlanta/Chicago, Carolina/Dallas, Seattle/Portland).

Of the remaining MLS sides, only Portland and Philadelphia have failed to win the U.S. Open Cup.

The last non-MLS side to win the Open Cup was the 1999 Rochester Rhinos.