Watch Live: New York Red Bulls vs. Houston Dynamo (Lineups)


Red Bull Arena and the New York Red Bulls will play host to the Houston Dynamo on NBCSN at 6:00 p.m. ET tonight. You can also catch the game live at NBC Sports Live Extra.

Houston is fighting to jump the Eastern Conference tables to slide into the playoffs, but right now, they’re situated in eight place, sitting behind three other teams including the New York Red Bulls in fifth place. The Dynamo have 36 points and would need to win the majority of their final games to have a legitimate chance at snagging a postseason birth.

The Red Bulls have to remain firm with their performances. Essentially, they can’t afford a losing streak to close out the season, and even though a mix of ties and victories should see them into the playoffs, Toronto FC and the Philadelphia Union are only one and two points back from NY respectively.

[WATCH LIVE: New York Red Bulls vs. Houston Dynamo]

Both sides have already met twice this year, in July, with the 2-2 result. In April, however, New York trounced Dominic Kinnear’s team, 4-0. And the Red Bulls should enjoy home turf, considering a 4-0 loss to the LA Galaxy last week stretched their away winless run to seven competitions.

A week ago, the Dynamo extended their undefeated streak to five games, blanking the Chicago Fire, 2-0. Although long periods of success eventually come to an end, Houston’s victorious momentum could help them capture a important result in Harrison.

But can MLS MVP candidate Bradley Wright-Phillips and New York’s shaky defense trump their opponent?


New York: Luis Robles; Richard Eckersley, Armando, Ibrahim Sekagya, Roy Miller; Eric Alexander, Dax McCarty, Lloyd Sam, Peguy Luyindula, Thierry Henry; Bradley Wright-Phillips

Bench — Ryan Meara; Chris Duvall; Tim Cahill, Ian Christianson, Eric Stevenson; Saer Sene, Damien Perrinelle

Houston: Tyler Deric; Kofi Sarkodie, David Horst, A.J. Cochran, DaMarcus Beasley; Oscar Garcia, Ricardo Clark, Luis Garrido, Brad Davis; Giles Barnes, Omar Cummings

Bench– Michael Lisch; Jermaine Taylor, Eric Brunner; Andrew Driver, Brian Ownby, Servando Carrasco, Alexander Lopez