It’s halftime at London’s Craven Cottage and the US national team holds a slim 1-0 lead over Colombia, thanks to the above 10th minute penalty kick converted by Jozy Altidore.
First things first, should the handball have been given as a penalty? Taylor Twellman seems to think it shouldn’t have, that it should have been a foul on USMNT forward Rubio Rubin for undercutting Pablo Armero.
[ RELATED: USMNT starting 11 vs. Colombia ]
I think the referees, who rightly came together to consult with one another, got the call 100 percent correct. There is very little contact — and even less intent — by Rubin to make affect Armero’s jump, and it certainly didn’t cause his arm to flail in the air loosely.
With 45 minutes to go in this international friendly, the USMNT sees a statement victory over the current FIFA No. 3-ranked team in the world within its reach.