Gold Cup picture clearer as Jamaica, Haiti earn berths; Caribbean/CA playoff set


We now know 11 of the 12 contestants for the 2015 Gold Cup this summer, as Jamaica and Haiti have joined the fray after Cuba and Trinidad and Tobago clinched berths on Saturday.

Haiti’s goal differential keeps them ahead of Martinique, who also lost the battle to earn a playoff spot against Honduras on goal differential, meaning French Guiana will face Los Catrachos, likely in Spring 2015 for the 12th spot in the tournament.

[ MORE: Sunday’s Euro qualifying wrap ]

Jamaica beat Haiti 2-0 on Sunday to clinch a spot in Tuesday’s Caribbean Cup final against Trinidad and Tobago, with Philadelphia Union keeper Andre Blake between the sticks for the Reggae Boyz. Haiti will take on Cuba in the third-place match earlier Tuesday.

2015 Gold Cup contestants (FIFA ranking)
Costa Rica (16)
Mexico (17)
United States (23)
Trinidad and Tobago (49)
Panama (56)
Guatemala (72)
El Salvador (82)
Haiti (93)
Cuba (112)
Jamaica (113)
Canada (122)


Honduras (69) or French Guiana (Not FIFA member)