Tesho Akindele brings FC Dallas its first MLS Rookie of the Year award


From Calgary to Colorado to Dallas, Tesho Akindele’s young career has been quite a ride.

The latest stop? MLS rookie of the year.

The league announced Monday that Akindele edged Steve Birnbaum of DC United and Harry Shipp of the Chicago Fire for the honor.

[ MLS: BWP did not know suspension rule ]

The 22-year-old, who holds an American passport and has turned down an invite to Canada camp, scored 7 goals and added 3 assists in his rookie year after being selected sixth overall in the MLS SuperDraft.

Major League Soccer Rookie of the Year award winners
1996- Steve Ralston, Tampa Bay
1997- Mike Duhaney, Tampa Bay
1998- Ben Olsen, DC United
1999- Jay Heaps, Miami
2000- Carlos Bocanegra, Chicago
2001- Rodrigo Faria, NY/NJ
2002- Kyle Martino, Columbus
2003- Damani Ralph, Chicago
2004- Clint Dempsey, New England
2005- Michael Parkhurst, New England
2006- Jonathan Bornstein, Chivas USA
2007- Maurice Edu, Toronto
2008- Sean Franklin, LA
2009- Omar Gonzalez, LA
2010- Andy Najar, DC United
2011- CJ Sapong, Sporting KC
2012- Austin Berry, Chicago
2013- Dillon Powers, Colorado (PST choice: Powers)
2014- Teshi Akindele, FC Dallas
(PST choice: Nick Hagglund, Toronto FC)