Robbie Keane voted 2014 MLS Most Valuable Player

1 Comment

LA Galaxy striker Robbie Keane is your 2014 Major League Soccer MVP.

The Republic of Ireland striker was handed the award Wednesday, beating out Seattle Sounders forward Obafemi Martins and New England Revolution midfielder Lee Nguyen.

It’s been an incredible season for the 34-year-old, setting career-highs in goals scored (19) and assists (14) while leading his side to the MLS Cup Final. It’s the first time Keane has received the award and the third time a Galaxy player has done so following Carlos Ruiz in 2002 and Landon Donovan in 2009.

Keane won the award based on the weighted total of votes coming from clubs, the media and players. The Galaxy striker was the unanimous winner over all three categories while Martins received the second-most votes from media, Nguyen earning the second-most from clubs and Bradley Wright-Phillips handed the second-most votes from players.


The Galaxy won two league titles in Keane’s first three seasons and will attempt to make it three this Sunday when they host New England in MLS Cup final. Keane re-signed with the Galaxy earlier this year in a deal that will keep him in LA for three more years, a clear statement by the club that the Irishman will be their leader long after Landon Donovan’s retirement.


2014: Robbie Keane – LA Galaxy
2013: Mike Magee – Chicago Fire
2012: Chris Wondolowski – San Jose Earthquakes
2011: Dwayne De Rosario – D.C. United
2010: David Ferreira – FC Dallas
2009: Landon Donovan – LA Galaxy
2008: Guillermo Barros Schelotto – Columbus Crew
2007: Luciano Emilio – D.C. United
2006: Christian Gómez – D.C. United
2005: Taylor Twellman – New England Revolution
2004: Amado Guevara – MetroStars
2003: Preki – Kansas City Wizards
2002: Carlos Ruiz – LA Galaxy
2001: Alex Pineda Chacón – Miami Fusion
2000: Tony Meola – Kansas City Wizards
1999: Jason Kreis – Dallas Burn
1998: Marco Etcheverry – D.C. United
1997: Preki – Kansas City Wizards
1996: Carlos Valderrama – Tampa Bay Mutiny