USWNT learns World Cup fate: Group D with Sweden, Australia, Nigeria


The Women’s World Cup draw for 2015 was held in Canada’s capital city on Saturday afternoon, and set up a rematch between the United States and its former head coach Pia Sundhage.

The draw very kind to Germany, placing them in an extremely cruise-worthy Group B.

The fortune for the US was another story, with the Yanks being placed in a tough group with Australia, Nigeria and a strong Sweden (led by Sundhage). The United States will open the World Cup with a match against Australia on June 8.

If Canada and the US win their groups, they cannot meet until the World Cup final.

[ USWNT: Holiday wins player of the year award ]

But Groups E and F are the toughest of the bunch.

Colombia was briefly and wrongly drawn with Brazil before it was corrected.

Complete 2015 World Cup draw

Group A: Canada, China, New Zealand, Netherlands

Group B: Germany, Ivory Coast, Norway, Thailand

Group C: Japan, Switzerland, Cameroon, Ecuador

Group D: United States, Australia, Sweden, Nigeria

Group E: Brazil, Spain, South Korea, Costa Rica

Group F: France, England, Colombia, Mexico