Keylor Navas, Abby Wambach win CONCACAF player of the year awards

1 Comment

Costa Rican goalkeeper Keylor Navas and U.S. women’s national team striker Abby Wambach have been voted as the best male and female players by CONCACAF.

On Tuesday the federation announced the winners of the prestigious award, with Real Madrid goalkeeper Navas scooping the honor ahead of teammate Bryan Ruiz and USMNT goalkeeper Tim Howard.

[ RELATED: Festive TV schedule released for PL ]

Wambach, 34, won the award for the first-time in her storied career after losing out to USWNT teammate Alex Morgan in the inaugural CONCACAF awards in 2013. Costa Rican midfielder Shirley Cruz was second and Mexican forward Charlyn Corral came in third, as votes were cast by voting by national team coaches and captains, media and fans.

Howard did scoop his second straight Goalkeeper of the Year award, while Costa Rica’s Jorge Luis Pinto was Coach of the Year after guiding the Central Americans to the quarterfinals of the 2014 World Cup and, surprisingly, there was no spot for Jurgen Klinsmann in the top three after he won the award in 2013. There were more accolades for Americans, as Mark Geiger was named Referee of the Year after becoming the first U.S citizen to referee a knockout match at the World Cup.

Click here for a full list of all the CONCACAF award winners.