Ramos names final 20-man roster for CONCACAF U-20 Championship


Tab Ramos has whittled down his roster to just 20 names ahead of the 2015 CONCACAF U-20 Championship later this month.

More than half of the roster plays its club ball outside of the United States, and just one player has received a full national team cap (Fulham’s Emerson Hyndman).

Notably preliminary roster members who haven’t made the final cut are Erik Palmer-Brown of Sporting KC, Rubio Rubin of FC Utrecht and Andrija Novakovich of Reading. In some of those cases, particularly Rubin, it’s likely they’ll be getting invites to the senior USMNT’s camp. Jurgen Klinsmann has said “8 to 10 players” of Olympic age (U-23) will be in his January camp.

[ MORE: Klinsmann talks Olympic team, Gold Cup prep ]

Representing Major League Soccer are defenders Matt Miazga and Tyler Turner, midfielders Romain Gall and Kellyn Acosta, and striker Tommy Thompson and Bradford Jamieson IV.

U.S. U-20 MNT roster

Goalkeepers: Ethan Horvath (Molde FK), Zack Steffen (SC Freiburg)

Defenders: Cameron Carter-Vickers (Tottenham Hotspur), Conor Donovan (N.C. State), Matt Miazga (New York Red Bulls), Shaquell Moore (Unattached), John Requejo (Club Tijuana), Tyler Turner (Orlando City)

Midfielders: Kellyn Acosta (FC Dallas), Fernando Arce (Club Tijuana), Russell Canouse (TSG 1899 Hoffenheim), Junior Flores (Borussia Dortmund), Romain Gall (Columbus Crew), Lynden Gooch (Sunderland), Emerson Hyndman (Fulham)

Forwards: Paul Arriola (Club Tijuana), Bradford Jamieson IV (LA Galaxy), Amando Moreno (Club Tijuana), Ben Spencer (Molde FK), Tommy Thompson (San Jose Earthquakes)