VIDEO: Roma win on controversial goal; calls for goal-line technology intensify in Italy

2 Comments

In or out?

In Italy’s Serie A, human judgement still makes the calls on whether or not the ball crosses the line as goal-line technology has not been ushered in to the Italian top-flight. After this latest incident, perhaps they should have a rethink.

[ RELATED: Messi to Chelsea? ]

On Tuesday AS Roma beat Udinese 1-0 in the first game since the winter break, but there was huge controversy surrounding Davide Astori’s winning goal which arrived after 17 minutes.

The Italian defender headed towards goal but the ball hit the underside of the crossbar and then bounced down as the goal-line official said it did cross the line… but the referee overruled him to award a goal which sparked outrage from Udinese’s players.

Take a look at the Vine below to see whether or not the whole ball crossed the line.

Well, what did you think?

It is so hard to tell, as simulations after the game showed that a smidgen of the ball did not cross the line. So, no goal. Roma seem to have got away with one as they kept up the chase on first-placed Juventus with the controversial win.

With the Bundesliga all set for goal-line technology in 2015-16, should Serie A follow suit after the seamless, if expensive, installation of the technology in the Premier League has gone smoothly so far?

After this goal an the furor around it, probably.