Chelsea set to appeal Nemanja Matic red card, Ashley Barnes will not be charged


Chelsea fans will not be happy to hear that Ashley Barnes has got off scot-free for his lunging tackle on Nemanja Matic on Saturday.

[ RELATED: What should Matic have done? ]

Matic was sent off in the 69th minute of Chelsea’s 1-1 draw with Burnley for reacting and pushing Barnes to the floor after the latter dove in and made a horrendous tackle which has incensed Blues boss Jose Mourinho.

The Serbian international was handed a three-game ban for violent conduct (Chelsea are said to be appealing that) and will miss Chelsea’s League Cup final against Tottenham Hotspur at Wembley Stadium on Sunday, which will be a huge blow for the Blues as the powerful midfielder has been key in their success this season.

In a statement via Twitter the FA confirmed that no retrospective action will be taken against Barnes, as referee Martin Atkinson and his officials saw the incident and chose to not book him for the tackle. Therefore, no further action could be taken under the current set of FA rules.

“The FA confirm no further action in relation to Ashley Barnes as the incident was seen by the officials. In the vast majority of challenges for the ball, no retrospective action is taken as the incident has been seen by the match officials. Retrospective action was introduced as a deterrent for ‘off the ball incidents’ committed out of sight of officials.

“The whole game is in agreement that, in the vast majority of cases, match officials are best-placed to deal with incidents to avoid re-refereeing.”