Keller, Hejduk, Conrad headline 13 new eligibles for National Soccer HOF


The newest eligibles for the 2015 National Soccer Hall of Fame were announced on Thursday, with U.S. national team stalwarts, goalkeeper Kasey Keller and defenders Frankie Hejduk and Jimmy Conrad, headlining the list of 13 first-time eligible candidates.

[ FOLLOW: All of PST’s USMNT news | USWNT ]

Goalkeepers Pat Onstad, Eddie Robinson and Zach Thornton; defender Gregg Berhalter; and forwards Jovan Kirovski and Diego Serna are the other men on the ballot for the first time. Forwards Tiffeny Milbrett, Natasha Kai, Lindsay Tarpley and Christie Welsh are the first-time eligible women.

Voting, which is done by Hall of Famers, administrators and media, runs through March 20.

[ MORE: Three questions still unanswered as USMNT builds toward 2015 Gold Cup ]

Thirty-one players, including, Chris Armas, Chris Henderson, Chris Klein, Jason Kreis, Eddie Lewis, Clint Mathis, Jaime Moreno, John O’Brien, Ben Olsen, Steve Ralston, Ante Razov, Tiffany Roberts, Tony Sanneh, Briana Scurry, Kate Sobrero Markgraf and Taylor Twellman, are on the ballot as holdovers, while Robin Fraser and Shannon MacMillan are in their final year of eligibility.

The builder ballot includes Bob Contiguglia, Don Garber, Richard Groff, Robert Kraft, Tim Lieweke, Francisco Marcos, Fritz Marth, Kevin Payne and Sigi Schmid

The 2014 induction class consisted of Brian McBride, Kristine Lilly and Bob Bradley.