USMNT releases roster for upcoming friendlies


Jurgen Klinsmann has yet again created ripples with his US 23-man roster, released this morning ahead of the upcoming friendlies with Denmark and Switzerland.

The biggest note seems to be the omission of Geoff Cameron, who has had plenty of playing time with Stoke City but apparently not enough for the US manager.

Meanwhile, 26-year-old Club Leon goalkeeper William Yarbrough, as reported earlier, does make the roster alongside Cody Cropper and Nick Rimando between the sticks. Brad Guzan does not appear on the roster due to the upcoming birth of his child.

Julian Green also makes the roster despite his inability to make the roster of a senior team. The youngster has struggled to make the Hamburg teamsheet on loan from Bayern Munich, and has been playing with the U-23 team as a result. Another Bundesliga member in Fabian Johnson appears, as he has been in good form for Borussia Monchengladbach.

Another new face is 22-year-old defender Ventura Alvarado, who plays for Club America of Liga MX. Both he and Yarbrough have yet to choose between the United States and Mexico, so Klinsmann would like to give them a way into the national team.

Also interesting to note, Klinsmann has left all U-20 eligible players who Tab Ramos would like to utilize for the upcoming World Cup off the roster.

Other players we haven’t seen for a bit that make the side include a number of European-based players like Timmy Chandler, Tim Ream, and Danny Williams, along with Puebla’s Michael Orozco, while young Miguel Ibarra is back on the roster, as is Gyasi Zardes from the LA Galaxy.


GK: Cody Cropper (Southampton), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake), William Yarbrough (Club Leon)

DEF: Ventura Alvarado (Club America), John Brooks (Hertha Berlin), Timmy Chandler (Eintracht Frankfurt), Greg Garza (Club Tijuana), Michael Orozco (Puebla), Tim Ream (Bolton Wanderers), Brek Shea (Orlando City SC), DeAndre Yedlin (Tottenham Hotspur)

MID: Alejandro Bedoya (Nantes), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Julian Green (Hamburg), Miguel Ibarra (Minnesota United FC), Fabian Johnson (Borussia Mönchengladbach), Alfredo Morales (Ingolstadt), Danny Williams (Reading), Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy)

FW: Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC), Aron Johannsson (AZ Alkmaar), Rubio Rubin (Utrecht)