Title watch: A look at Europe’s domestic champions


As the domestic seasons across Europe come to a close, champions have been crowned in all of the major leagues. Below we take a quick look at the clubs that will be lifting a trophy come season’s end.

Barclays Premier League (England): Chelsea

Manager: Jose Mourinho
Top scorer: Diego Costa
Record: W25, D9, L2, 84 pts (Two matches remaining)
Title: 4 (First since 2009-10)

Jose Mourinho’s Blues were the best side in the Premier League from day one, setting a record for the most days spent at the top of the table in a single season. Eden Hazard was named the PFA Player of the Year, while Diego Costa led the team in scoring in his first season at Stamford Bridge.

La Liga (Spain): Barcelona

Manager: Luis Enrique
Top scorer: Lionel Messi
Record:W30, D3. L4, 93 pts (One match remaining)
Title: 23 (Seventh title in past 10 seasons)

Barcelona battled Real Madrid for the La Liga title all season long, but Luis Enrique’s men had just enough to clinch the trophy with one match remaining. Now the Catalans will focus on winning the treble, facing off against Athletic Bilbao in the Copa del Rey final before heading to Berlin to take on Juventus in the Champions League final.

Serie A (Italy): Juventus

Manager: Massimiliano Allegri
Top scorer: Carlos Tevez
Record: W25, D8, L3, 83 pts (Two matches remaining)
Title: 31 (Fourth consecutive Serie A title)

Juventus claimed its fourth consecutive Serie A title as Max Allegri’s men dominated Italy’s top flight. Juve claimed the title with four games to play and is also in the hunt for a treble, with the Coppa Italia final against Lazio this Wednesday before the Champions League final June 6th.

Paris Saint-Germain celebrates in front of the home support at Parc des Princes.

Ligue 1 (France): PSG

Manager: Laurent Blanc
Top scorer: Zlatan Ibrahimovic
Record: W23, D11, L3, 80 pts (One match remaining)
Title: 5 (Third consecutive Ligue 1 title)

Paris Saint-Germain takes home the Ligue 1 trophy for the third consecutive season as Zlatan & Co. lost only three matches all season long. With success in France’s domestic competitions, the next step forward is progress in the Champions League, as the Parisians have lost in the quarterfinals the past two seasons.

Bundesliga (Germany): Bayern Munich

Manager: Pep Guardiola
Top scorer: Arjen Robben
Record: W24, D4, L5, 76 pts (One match remaining)
Title: 25 (Third consecutive Bundesliga title)

Bayern Munich’s dominance of the Bundesliga continued with the Bavarians claiming their third consecutive title, the 25th in club history. Bayern enjoyed the best first half of a season in Bundesliga history and Pep Guardiola’s men walked to the title. Unfortunately, they were bounced from the both the Champions League and the German Cup in the semifinals.

Eredivisie (Netherlands): PSV Eindhoven

Manager: Phillip Cocu
Top scorer: Memphis Depay
Record: W29, D1, L4, 88 pts 
Title: 22 (First since 2007-08)

Soon-to-be Manchester United-man Memphis Depay led PSV Eindhoven to the clubs’ 22nd Eredivisie title and first since 2008. Depay’s 22 goals led the Eredivisie as PSV scored 23 more times than any other team. Eindhoven didn’t lose a single game at home, winning 16 and drawing one.

Benfica has won back-to-back Primeira Liga titles.

Primeira Liga (Portugal): Benfica

Manager: Jorge Jesus
Top scorer: Lima
Record: W26, D4, L3, 82 pts (One match remaining)
Title: 34 (Back-to-back Primeira Liga titles)

Benfica won its first back-to-back Primeira Liga titles in 31 years after repeating their success from last season. Jorge Jesus’ men have kept 20 clean sheets through 33 matches, conceding just 15 times on the season. Rivals FC Porto finish the season without a trophy for the first time since 1989.

Russian Premier League (Russia): Zenit St. Petersburg

Manager: Andre Villas-Boas
Top scorer: Hulk
Record: W19, D7, L2, 64 pts (Two matches remaining)
Title: 4 (First since 2011-12)

Former Chelsea and Tottenham manager Andre Villas-Boas led Zenit St. Petersburg to the Russian Premier League title, his first trophy since winning the Primeira Liga with Porto in 2011. With a club willing to spend big bucks to bring glory to Russian football, Zenit’s next step is European success.