Blackhawks take soccer skills to the ice, have headed overtime goal nullified


The Chicago Blackhawks were taking on the Anaheim Ducks in Game 2 of the Eastern Conference finals on the west coast last night.

Yes, I realize this is a soccer website. Stay with me.

Into a second overtime and the Blackhawks on their heels for most of the last 20 minutes, a scrum in front of the Anaheim goal resulted in Chicago winger Andrew Shaw heading the puck into the net for what everyone believed to be the sudden death game-winner. Chicago celebrated like they had tied the series at 1-1, but the referees held off signaling anything until they’d looked at the video.

Take a look yourself:

As the NHL tweet there spoiled, amid all the celebration, the goal was nullified, with hockey analysts across the country admitting they had no idea such a play was possible, let alone illegal.

On closer inspection, Rule 78.5: “Apparent goal shall be disallowed by the referee…When the puck has been directed, batted, or thrown into the net by an attacking player other than with a stick.” Boo. But no matter. Chicago went on to win in a third overtime on a goal from Marcus Kruger in what turned out to be the longest game in franchise history.

Here at ProSoccerTalk, we believe such skills in the box should count for something. Shaw was left completely unmarked, and directed the puck expertly off his forehead into the back of the net. We have just one question…he can do it in a hockey rink, but can he do it on a cold, rainy night in Stoke?

Here’s full video: