Antonio Conte names two uncapped players in Italy’s squad ahead of Euro ’16 qualifier

1 Comment

Italy’s national team will encounter Croatia in a Euro 2016 qualifier on June 12, and manager Antonio Conte has named a 32-man squad, including two uncapped men, Daniel Caligiuri and Nicola Sansone.

Caligiuri, scoring 10 goals on the year, made his name known due to a top-notch season with Wolfsburg, a team that defeated Borussia Dortmund in the DFB-Pokal final yesterday and also qualified for Champions League spot.

Sansone of Sassuolo, with five goals and four assists on the year, came through Bayern Munich’s youth system and was born in Germany, though he has made appearances for Italy’s youth side dating back to 2007.

Stephan El Shaarawy returned from injury and is fit for a training retreat that goes from June 2 to June 4.

[RELATED: Marcelo injured, dropped from Brazil’s Copa America squad]

Premier League standout Graziano Pelle, who scored 16 goals in his first season in England, is joined by a veteran of a lesser impact, Sunderland’s Emanuele Giaccherini.

For those wondering about the whereabouts of Juve’s stars in this roster, none have been selected due to their vital Champions League final match against Barcelona next weekend.

Conte will announce a final squad next weekend for the game. In Qatar on June 16, the Blues will then clash with Portugal.

Roster below:

Goalkeepers: Federico Marchetti (Lazio), Daniele Padelli (Torino), Salvatore Sirigu (Paris Saint -Germain)

Defenders: Francesco Acerbi (Sassuolo), Davide Astori (Roma), Domenico Criscito (Zenit), Matteo Darmian (Torino), Mattia De Sciglio (Milan), Lorenzo De Silvestri (Sampdoria), Emiliano Moretti (Torino), Manuel Pasqual (Fiorentina), Andrea Ranocchia (Inter)

Midfielders: Andrea Bertolacci (Genoa), Daniel Caligiuri (Wolfsburg), Daniele De Rossi (Roma), Alessandro Florenzi (Roma), Emanuele Giaccherini (Sunderland), Marco Parolo (Lazio), Andrea Poli (Milan), Roberto Soriano (Sampdoria), Mirko Valdifiori (Empoli), Marco Verratti (Paris Saint Germain)

Forwards: Antonio Candreva (Lazio), Stephan El Shaarawy (Milan), Manolo Gabbiadini (Napoli), Ciro Immobile (Borussia Dortmund),Lorenzo Insigne (Napoli), Alberto Paloschi (Chievo), Graziano Pelle (Southampton), Nicola Sansone (Sassuolo), Franco Vazquez (Palermo), Simone Zaza (Sassuolo)