Klinsmann names United States’ 22-man roster for friendlies vs. Netherlands, Germany


Leading up to friendlies against the Netherlands and 2014 World Cup winner Germany, United States head coach Jurgen Klinsmann has named the national team’s 22-man roster.

The former Bayern Munich striker had to omit the prominent trio of Jozy Altidore, Clint Dempsey and Alejandro Bedoya.

Altidore is nursing a hamstring injury that will keep him out of MLS play for weeks, and Bedoya  is treating a knee problem picked up near the end of his season with French club Nantes.

Dempsey is prepping for the birth of his fourth child.

Other notable absences include midfielder Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City–MLS), defenders Geoff Cameron (Stoke City–Premier League), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City) and Omar Gonzalez (L.A. Galaxy–MLS).

[RELATED: Conte names two uncapped players to Italy squad]

Young players such as the New England Revolution’s Juan Agudelo and LA Galaxy forward Gyasi Zardes will have the opportunity to present their talents known prior to the 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup starting on July 7.

Meanwhile, World Cup standout Jermaine Jones and Aston Villa goalkeeper Brad Guzan are back in the mix.

“Our time since the World Cup has been a transition period which now winds down before the Gold Cup,” said Klinsmann in a statement from U.S. soccer.

“Playing against top teams like Germany and the Netherlands provides valuable experience, especially for the younger players here. More and more they must understand we come to meet these opponents eye to eye…..It’s a bit tricky when we are without some of our core players, but that creates a huge opportunity for the guys here to benchmark themselves against some of the best players in the world. ”

The Stars and Stripes will take on Oranje this Friday in Amsterdam and Germany on June 10 in Cologne.

Roster below:

Goalkeepers: Brad Guzan (Aston Villa), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake), William Yarbrough (Leon).

Defenders: Ventura Alvarado (Club America), John Brooks (Hertha Berlin), Timmy Chandler (Eintracht Frankfurt), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders), Michael Orozco (Puebla), Brek Shea (Orlando City), DeAndre Yedlin (Tottenham Hotspur).

Midfielders: Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Mix Diskerud (New York City FC), Miguel Ibarra (Minnesota United), Fabian Johnson (Moenchengladbach), Jermaine Jones (New England Revolution), Alfredo Morales (Ingolstadt), Danny Williams (Reading).

Forwards: Juan Agudelo (New England Revolution), Aron Johannsson (AZ Alkmaar), Bobby Wood (1860 Munich), Gyasi Zardes (Los Angeles Galaxy).