Andres Iniesta out of selection for Spain training camp due to injury


Barcelona’s Andres Iniesta will not be available to his international side, Spain, for the beginning of training camp due to “muscular discomfort.”

La Furia Roja will battle Costa Rica in a friendly match on Thursday and then face Belarus in a Euro 2016 qualifier that Sunday. 

Three points behind leader Slovakia, Spain sit at second place in Group C of the tournament and will have the services of multiple Barcelona and Juventus players, despite some of them having played significant roles in the Saturday’s Champions League final.

[RELATED: U-20 World Cup roundup–Germany, Brazil lead the way]

“The FC Barcelona and Juventus players who took part in the Champions League final had permission to join the Spain squad on Monday 8th [June] at 6pm,” the national team’s official website stated.

“Jordi Alba, [Marc] Bartra, [Sergio] Busquets, Pedro and [Gerard] Pique, as well as [Alvaro] Morata will arrive to Las Rozas where they look to take part in practice at 7:30pm….Midfielder Andres Iniesta will not take part on Monday 8th June.

“The Medical Services of the Spanish National Team have taken the decision that the muscular discomfort suffered by the player throughout the past week are sufficient for him to miss practice.”

Iniesta was magnificent in Barca’s title win yesterday and received recognition through Man of the Match honors. He will be missed but take a look at Spain’s stacked squad, now that the European club soccer season is finished.

Goalkeepers: Iker Casillas (Real Madrid), David de Gea (Manchester United), Sergio Rico (Sevilla)

Defenders: Sergio Ramos, Dani Carvajal (Real Madrid), Gerard Pique, Jordi Alba, Marc Bartra (Barcelona), Juanfran (Atletico Madrid), Juan Bernat (Bayern Munich)

Midfielders: Sergio Busquets (Barcelona), Koke (Atletico Madrid), Mikel San Jose (Athletic Bilbao), David Silva (Manchester City), Santi Cazorla (Arsenal), Cesc Fabregas (Chelsea), Isco (Real Madrid),

Forwards: Alvaro Morata (Juventus), Vitolo, Aleix Vial (Sevilla), Pedro Rodriguez (Barcelona), Nolito (Celta Vigo), Paco Alcacer (Valencia)