CONCACAF Champions League returns: Five MLS teams eye continental glory


The 2015-16 CONCACAF Champions League kicks off on Tuesday, with five teams from Major League Soccer hoping to break the stronghold Liga MX has had on the competition since it was revamped in 2008.

[ MORE: Season previews of all 20 PL teams

In that time we have seen seven-straight titles for Mexican club’s, with only two MLS sides — Real Salt Lake in 2011 and Montreal Impact in 2014 — making the final.

However, plenty of MLS teams will fancy their chances of going far in CCL play this season as reigning MLS Cup Champions LA Galaxy and D.C. United are both involved and both have tasted success in the old format of CONCACAF’s continental competition.

[ MORE: Latest transfer news

Real Salt Lake qualify by virtue as the best-placed MLS side in 2014 who didn’t make it to the CCL, while the Vancouver Whitecaps were the best-placed Canadian team in the 2014 MLS season (that spot is usually given to the Canadian Championship winners) and the Seattle Sounders qualify after winning the 2014 MLS Supporters’ Shield. The Montreal Impact came close to winning the CCL last season but were downed by Santos Laguna 5-3 over the two-legged final.

24 teams from across the CONCACAF region will square off, with the winners of the eight groups going through to the quarterfinal stage.

This week, four of the five qualified MLS teams will be in action as those fixtures are below with a Cascadia clash between Vancouver and Seattle taking center stage at BC Place. You can watch the games on FoxSoccer2go.

Tuesday, August 4

Municipal (Guatemala) vs. Real Salt Lake – 10 p.m. ET

Wednesday, August 5

Vancouver Whitecaps vs. Seattle Sounders – 10 p.m. ET

Thursday, August 6

LA Galaxy vs. Central FC (Trinidad and Tobago) – 10 p.m. ET