2015 CONCACAF Awards feature bevy of MLS, Premier League, U.S. players

AP Photo/Michael Perez
1 Comment

Last year, Tim Howard and Abby Wambach claimed top honors for male goalkeeper and female player, respectively, in the CONCACAF Awards.

On Tuesday, we received the list of players competing to follow suit, as well as those nominated for several other big name awards in the “2015” edition of the awards.

[ MORE: Bremen GM compares Jordan Morris to a hockey player ]

Voting is open now, and here are your Premier League, USMNT, USWNT and Major League Soccer players on the ballot. There are even college players in Canadian national teamer Kadeisha Buchanan (West Virginia) and Costa Rican star Raquel Rodriguez (Penn State).

Only one player on the Female Player of the Year list plays abroad: PSG’s Shirley Cruz (Costa Rica)

U.S. connections on CONCACAF Awards ballot

Male Player of the Year: Clint Dempsey, Michael Bradley, Cyle Larin

Female Player of the Year: Alex Morgan, Becky Sauerbrunn, Carli Lloyd, Christine Sinclair, Hope Solo, Julie Johnston, Kadeisha Buchanan, Megan Rapinoe, Raquel Rodriguez

Male Goalkeeper of the Year: Andre Blake, Brad Guzan, Tim Howard, Evan Bush, Bill Hamid.

Female Goalkeeper of the Year: Alyssa Naeher, Ashlyn Harris, Hope Solo, Erin McLeod, Hope Solo, Michele Dalton, Rosemary Chandler, Michelle Betos.

Male Coach of the Year: Caleb Porter, Jurgen Klinsmann, Jess Marsch.

Female Coach of the Year: Jill Ellis, Laura Harvey, Michelle French

Female Referee of the Year: Karen Abt, Katja Koroleva, Margaret Domka

Goal of the Year: Carli Lloyd, Lauren Holiday.


Defenders: Adrian Mariappa, Demar Phillips, Matt Besler, Maynor Figueroa, Roman Torres

Midfielders: Dax McCarty, Michael Bradley

Forwards: Clint Dempsey, Darren Mattocks, Jozy Altidore, Kei Kamara, Sebastian Giovinco


Defenders: Becky Sauerbrunn, Julie Johnston, Kadeisha Buchanan, Ali Krieger, Christie Rampone, Diana Saenz, Lixy Rodriguez, Megan Klingenberg, Rebecca Quinn.

Midfielders: Carli Lloyd, Megan Rapinoe, Ashley Lawrence, Lauren Holiday, Megan Rapinoe, Morgan Brian, Tobin Heath.

Forwards: Alex Morgan, Christine Sinclair, Raquel Rodriguez, Abby Wambach, Christen Press, Janine Beckie, Monica Ocampo.