Chicharito, Carli Lloyd selected as CONCACAF Players of the Year

Getty Images

Javier Hernandez and Carli Lloyd were awarded CONCACAF Players of the Year, the federation announced Friday. The awards were determined by an evenly-split vote that included coaches and players, fans, and media who voted on a predetermined 10-person list for each category.

Lloyd, who received FIFA’s Ballon d’Or for the 2015 calendar year, was voted into the award largely thanks to her outstanding 2015 World Cup performances, as she scored 18 goals across the year, including a hat-trick in the World Cup final. She also received the U.S. Soccer Female Player of the Year award.

Chicharito has been revived after a summer transfer to Bayer Leverkusen, and his club performances were a major factor in his push to this award. He has 14 goals in 17 Bundesliga appearances for his new club so far this season, having moved on a permanent deal from Manchester United on Deadline Day in August. He beat out Bryan Ruiz of Costa Rica and Mexican teammate Andres Guardado.

Also recognized were U.S. goalkeepers Tim Howard and Hope Solo. Howard won despite a long hiatus from the USMNT during 2015 and a number of shaky performances for Everton recently. The 36-year-old beat Jaime Penedo of Costa Rica. Solo, meanwhile, was a rock between the sticks for the women’s team during the World Cup. Howard and Michael Bradley were the only Americans named to the CONCACAF Best XI on the men’s side. USWNT coach Jill Ellis also won Female Coach of the Year, while Panama’s Hernan Dario Gomez won on the men’s side of the award.