Marcelo will not be punished for dive against Wolfsburg

Getty Images
1 Comment

During the first leg of Real Madrid’s Champions League quarterfinal matchup with Wolfsburg, with Los Blancos already down 2-0, Marcelo put himself in hot water.

The Real Madrid wing-back committed a horribly blatant dive in an attempt to get Wolfsburg midfielder Max Arnold sent off. Picking up the ball with the play blown dead, Marcelo was caught on camera very clearly pushing the crown of his head into Arnold’s chest, before clutching his face and collapsing to the ground.

It was…as obvious a dive as you’ll ever see, and yet it earned Arnold a yellow card from successfully conned referee Gianluci Rocchi.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7OTGw9-vLmQ&feature=youtu.be

It didn’t go down well in most circles. Wolfsburg coach Dieter Hecking reportedly confronted Marcelo in the tunnel following the match, and Hecking said to reporters, “I told him to stop acting. It doesn’t belong here and it’s unsportsmanlike.” Arnold maturely laughed it off, saying it was “part of football” before jokingly telling Dein Sky Sports, “I wish I had such beautiful hair.”

And yet…he will not receive punishment. In the Premier League, if an incident is mentioned in a referee’s report, it cannot be reviewed and amended, in an attempt to give credence to a referee’s decision-making. However, in UEFA competitions, if an incident is not mentioned in a referee’s report, it cannot be retroactively reviewed for punishment. Thus, as it was not in the referee’s report…

That seems to make little sense, and yet here we are. That didn’t stop journalists from giving their take: