France EURO 2016 roster: Kante in, Valbuena out

Getty Images

N'Golo Kante‘s dream year continued today when he made the French national team’s final 23-man roster ahead of EURO 2016.

In Kante’s first season in the Premier League, he won the title with Leicester City and was named to the PFA Team of the Year after a standout campaign in the Foxes’ midfield. He is one of ten Premier League players on Didier Deschamps’ side, who are one of the favorites to win the tournament as the host nation.

[ MORE: Belgium’s EURO 2016 roster ]

Tottenham’s Hugo Lloris will be the starting goalkeeper, with a duo of Manchester City defenders in front of him with Eliaquim Mangala and Bacary Sagna in the side, along with Arsenal’s Laurent Koscielny.

Kante is joined in the midfield with Crystal Palace’s Yohan Cabaye and Newcastle’s Moussa Sissoko, who maintained his position on the team despite the Magpies’ struggles.

West Ham’s Dimitri Payet will get his first taste of a major tournament after his brilliant year at Upton Park, with Manchester United’s young Anthony Martial also making the cut.

[ MORE: Petr Cech gives his take on Arsenal’s trophy-less season ]

Deschamps has decided to avoid all controversy by leaving Mathieu Valbuena off the roster after his involvement in a sex tape blackmail scandal earlier this year with Karim Benzema. Benzema, France’s active leading scorer, was suspended by the French Football Federation, while Valbuena struggled to find his form after the incident.

Goalkeepers: Hugo Lloris (Tottenham), Steve Mandanda (Marseille), Benoit Costil (Rennes)

Defenders: Raphael Varane (Real Madrid), Laurent Koscielny (Arsenal), Eliaquim Mangala (Manchester City), Jeremy Mathieu (Barcelona), Patrice Evra (Juventus), Bacary Sagna (Manchester City), Christophe Jallet (Lyon), Lucas Digne (Roma)

Midfielders: Paul Pogba (Juventus), Blaise Matuidi (PSG), Lassana Diarra (Marseille), N’Golo Kante (Leicester), Yohan Cabaye (Crystal Palace), Moussa Sissoko (Newcastle)

Attackers: Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid), Dimitri Payet (West Ham), Anthony Martial (Manchester United), Kingsley Coman (Bayer Munich), Olivier Giroud (Arsenal), Andre-Pierre Gignac (Tigres)

Standby: Alphonse Areola (Villarreal), Hatem Ben Arfa (Nice), Kevin Gameiro (Sevilla), Alexandre Lacazette (Lyon), Adrien Rabiot (PSG), Morgan Schneiderlin (Manchester United), Djibril Sidibe (Lille), Samuel Umtiti (Lyon)