Spain release provisional EURO 2016 squad; Mata, Costa, Torres missing


You must have an embarrassment of riches to leave Juan Mata, Diego Costa and Fernando Torres out of your national team squad.

Spain has exactly that but Vicente del Bosque has also made some bold choices by leaving the aforementioned trio at home.

[ MORE: How USMNT did in PL ]

On Tuesday Del Bosque announced his provisional 25-man squad for the 2016 European Championships as Spain look to win three-straight European Championships.

Del Bosque claims concerns over Costa’s fitness saw him miss out, while another surprising exclusion is Paco Alcacer who was Spain’s leading goalscorer during the qualification campaign.

With no Mata, Costa or Torres, their offense will be carried by Alvaro Morata, Nolito and Chelsea’s Pedro. Five Premier League players are in Spain’s squad with David De Gea, Cesar Azpilicueta, David Silva, Cesc Fabregas and Pedro included.

Young uncapped duo Saul Niguez of Atletico Madrid and Lucas Vazquez of Real Madrid both made the cut and seven of Spain’s squad will be battling it out in the UEFA Champions League final in Milan on May 28 as Atletico and Real clash.

Spain have been drawn in Group D and will play Turkey, Czech Republic and Croatia in France this summer.

Provisional 25-man Spain squad

Goalkeepers: Iker Casillas (Porto), David De Gea (Manchester United), Sergio Rico (Sevilla)

Defenders: Jordi Alba (Barcelona), Gerard Pique (Barcelona), Marc Bartra (Barcelona), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Dani Carvajal (Real Madrid), Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea), Juanfran (Atletico Madrid)

Midfielders: Sergio Busquets (Barcelona), Andres Iniesta (Barcelona), David Silva (Manchester City), Mikel San Jose (Athletic Bilbao), Koke (Atletico Madrid), Saul Niguez (Atletico Madrid), Cesc Fabregas (Chelsea), Thiago Alcantara (Bayern Munich), Isco (Real Madrid), Bruno Soriano (Villarreal)

Forwards: Pedro Rodriguez (Chelsea), Alvaro Morata (Juventus), Aritz Aduriz (Athletic Bilbao), Nolito (Celta Vigo), Lucas Vazquez (Real Madrid)