NASL spring season decided on third tiebreaker after unlikely scoreline

(Indy Eleven/Trevor Ruszkowski)
1 Comment

Eamon Zayed helped Indy Eleven score an unlikely bit of history on Saturday night.

First, some background for those that don’t follow the NASL: The season is split up into two seasons, and the winner of the Spring season gets a berth in a four-team playoff conducted after the Fall season.

Indy entered the final weekend of the Spring season needing a fairly unlikely result to win the campaign: A four-goal win, or a three-goal win by 4-1 or better.

[ MORE: Italy beats Belgium | Ireland 1-1 Sweden ]

Libya international Zayed scored three, and Indy picked up that exact second scoreline in a win over the Carolina RailHawks over the weekend.

A simple 3-0 win would’ve tied Indy with the New York Cosmos on points and goal differential, but 4-1 boosted them into a tie on a second tiebreaker: goals scored.

The next tiebreaker was head-to-head, and Indy beat the Cosmos 2-1 earlier in the season. It’s Indy’s first NASL season title of any kind, the team having just begun play in 2014.