Surprise omissions as UEFA announces team of EURO 2016

Getty Images

UEFA has selected its team of EURO 2016 and there are a few surprise omissions.

An expert panel picked the team on behalf of European soccer’s governing body, as UEFA revealed the 13 technical observers who selected the squad.

[ MORE: Ronaldo revels in EURO glory ]

Those observers are led by UEFA chief technical officer Ioan Lupescu and include Sir Alex Ferguson, Alain Giresse, David Moyes, Packie Bonner, Mixu Paatelainen, Savo Milosevic, Peter Rudbaek, Gareth Southgate, Thomas Schaaf, Jean-Francois Domergue, Gines Melendez and Jean-Paul Brigger.

Champions Portugal have four players included, while Germany has three and both Wales and France have two.

[ MORE: 3 things learned | Player ratings ]  

Some moderate surprises include no Gareth Bale, Hugo Lloris or Nani, but overall you can’t argue too much with the team selected.

Below is the best 11 players selected by UEFA with — as you’ve probably realized by now — only players from the four teams who made the semifinals included.

Let us know if you agree with this XI in the comments section below.

EURO 2016 Team of the Tournament (4-2-3-1): Rui Patricio (Portugal); Joshua Kimmich (Germany), Jerome Boateng (Germany), Pepe (Portugal),Raphael Guerreiro (Portugal); Toni Kroos (Germany), Joe Allen (Wales); Antoine Griezmann (France), Aaron Ramsey (Wales), Dimitri Payet (France); Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal)