UEFA names 40-man shortlist for Team of the Year

Getty Images

European soccer’s governing body has named a 40-man shortlist for its team of the year for 2016.

UEFA announced the shortlist late on Monday, with some surprising inclusions and absentees as 12 Premier League players have made the cut.

[ MORE: Klinsmann’s tenure unraveled ]

Manchester City had Kevin De Bruyne and Sergio Aguero nominated, while Manchester United had Zlatan Ibrahimovic and Paul Pogba selected. Riyad Mahrez of Leicester and N'Golo Kante of Chelsea were also included, while Toby Alderweireld of Tottenham, West Ham’s Dimitri Payet and Arsenal trio Aaron Ramsey, Laurent Koscielny and Alexis Sanchez were also included.

Stoke City’s Joe Allen made the shortlist along with his Welsh teammate Gareth Bale who joined seven other Real Madrid stars as the club with the most nominations. The usual suspects from Barcelona, Bayern Munich and Atletico Madrid were also included.

What about some snubs?

Mesut Ozil, David De Gea and Jamie Vardy stand out from the Premier League, as do the lack of any Liverpool players as stars such as Philippe Coutinho and Sadio Mane failed to make the list.

Fans have  until January 3 to vote for their TOTY, here, while below is the full list of candidates you can choose from.

Which 11 players would you select from this list?

Goalkeepers: Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus), Keylor Navas (Real Madrid), Jan Oblak (Atletico Madrid) Rui Patricio (Sporting Lisbon).

Defenders: Toby Alderweireld (Tottenham Hostspur) Jerome Boateng (Bayern Munich), Leonardo Bonnuci (Juventus), Dani Carvajal (Real Madrid), Diego Godin (Atletico Madrid), Raphael Guerreiro (Borussia Dortmund), Juanfran (Atletico Madrid), Joshua Kimmich (Bayern Munich), Laurent Koscielny (Arsenal), Pepe (Real Madrid), Gerard Pique (Barcelona), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid).

Midfielders: Joe Allen (Stoke), Kevin De Bruyne (Man City), Yannick Carrasco (Atletico Madrid), Andres Iniesta (Barcelona), N’Golo Kante (Chelsea), Toni Kroos (Real Madrid), Grzegorz Krychowiak (PSG), Riyad Mahrez (Leicester), Luka Modric (Real Madrid), Dimitri Payet (West Ham), Paul Pogba (Man Utd), Aaron Ramsey (Arsenal).

Forwards: Sergio Aguero (Man City), Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Borussia Dortmund), Gareth Bale (Real Madrid), Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid), Gonzalo Higuain (Juventus), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Man Utd), Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich), Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Neymar (Barcelona), Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid), Alexis Sanchez (Arsenal), Luis Suarez (Barcelona).