USL announces two 15-team conferences for 2017 season

Getty Images

After the United Soccer League (USL) was handed Division 2 status by the U.S. Soccer Federation last Friday, the rapidly expanding league has acted quickly to confirm conference alignment for the 2017 campaign.

[ VIDEO: Premier League highlights ]  

This season will see 30 teams compete in USL with an Eastern and Western Conference each having 15 teams.  

The Eastern Conference will include three MLS reserve teams (New York Red Bulls II, Orlando City B and Toronto II) while the West has six (Seattle Sounders 2, LA Galaxy II, Real Monarchs, Portland Timbers 2, Vancouver Whitecaps 2 and Swope Park Rangers).

USSF ruled last week that both the USL and NASL (which will have eight teams in 2017 after battling through severe financial issues in 2016) will have Division 2 status for the 2017 season.

For 2017 there will be three new teams in USL, with both the Tampa Bay Rowdies and Ottawa Fury joining from NASL and newly-formed Reno 1868 FC, while Arizona United SC have been relaunched as Phoenix Rising for 2017.

In 2018 Nashville SC will join USL and there’s the potential for Austin Aztex to take the league to 32 teams in 12 months time.

Eastern Conference

Western Conference