A brutal penalty call has cost a referee his job, and status in football, for life.
Joseph Odartei Lamptey called a handball against Senegal in a World Cup qualifier against South Africa. Those things happen.
The problem? It wasn’t a handball, and it wasn’t even close. A diving header flew into Kalidou Koulibaly’s leg, and not a single player on either side expected a penalty.
[ MORE: Should injured USMNT be worried? ]
One was given, and South Africa went on to win the qualifier 2-1. Both sides are a point behind Burkina Faso in Group D.
The official was found guilty of breaching art. 69 par. 1 (unlawfully influencing match results) of the FIFA Disciplinary Code during the 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia™ qualifying match between South Africa and Senegal on 12 November 2016.
On the other hand, all charges against the Ghanaian match official David Lionheart Nii Lartey Laryea, whose behaviour had also been the subject of investigations, were dismissed by the FIFA Disciplinary Committee.
Here’s the offense in question: