MLS All-Star squad selected to face Real Madrid

Getty Images

The 2017 MLS All-Star Game takes place at Soldier Field, Chicago on Aug. 2 and now we know which players from Major League Soccer will take on the two-time reigning European champions.

We already knew the Fan XI selected by a vote and on Tuesday MLS Commissioner Don Garber made his two commissioners picks, plus Chicago Fire head coach Veljko Paunovic (coach of the 2017 All-Stars) picked another 11 to take the total roster to 24 players.

Hometown team Chicago Fire have four players included (Bastian Schweinsteiger, Dax McCarty, Nemanja Nikolic and Johan Kappelhof but surprisingly not David Accam) while Toronto FC and Atlanta United each have three players in the squad with USMNT stars Tim Howard, Michael Bradley and Jozy Altidore all included.

Sporting Kansas City’s Dom Dwyer and FC Dallas’ Kellyn Acosta were both selected by Garber, with both players recently impressing for the U.S. national team during the 2017 Gold Cup.

MLS’ Designated Players David Villa, Kaka, Sebastian Giovinco, Schweinsteiger, Miguel Almiron, Giovani dos Santos and Diego Valeri have all been selected with a vast array of attacking talents for Paunovic to choose from.

Below is the full squad list.