Report: Canadian Premier League set to announce first eight cities

Charlie Crowhurst/Getty Images

The Canadian Premier League won’t officially kick off until 2019, but a major development could provide some clarity in the original cities to participate in the new league.

According to TSN 690 Radio, the CPL is prepared to reveal its original eight teams, which includes Calgary, Edmonton, Ottawa and Winnipeg.

The other cities, according to the report, are British Columbia, Halifax, Hamilton and York.

Of the eight sites potentially set to join the CPL, Edmonton is the only one that currently boasts a major professional franchise in North American soccer.

FC Edmonton currently plasy in the United Soccer League (USL), however, it remains to be seen if the club would be willing to make the switch to the newly-founded CPL.