Mbappe, Ronaldo among FIFA Men’s Player of Year candidates

Anthony Dibon/Icon Sport

Cristiano Ronaldo will be in the thick of a third consecutive FIFA Men’s Player of the Year award after being named to the shortlist on Tuesday, however, nine other players will be gunning for the Juventus attacker.

[ MORE: Guardiola, Zidane in running for FIFA Coach of the Year ]

After winning the award in 2016 and 2017, the Portugal international aims to take home the honors again in 2018.

Meanwhile, PSG star Kylian Mbappe, Real Madrid’s Luka Modric, Lionel Messi and Liverpool winger Mohamed Salah will go for their first The Best award.

Messi has finished runner up in the two previous votings.

Other candidates include forwards Antoine Griezmann and Harry Kane, as well as Belgium playmakers Eden Hazard and Kevin De Bruyne.

Below are the nominees for FIFA Men’s Player of the Year.

Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus)
Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City)
Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid)
Eden Hazard (Chelsea)
Harry Kane (Tottenham)
Kylian Mbappe (PSG)
Lionel Messi (Barcelona)
Luka Modric (Real Madrid)
Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)
Raphael Varane (Real Madrid)