Nominees for first-ever women’s Ballon d’Or revealed

Getty Images

For the first time in history the women’s game will have a Ballon d’Or winner, and it will be one of the following 15 players.

[ MORE: Pulisic up for Kopa Trophy ]

Two U.S. women’s national team players made the shortlist, with Lindsey Horan and Megan Rapinoe included, while England’s Lucy Bronze and Frank Kirby get the nod.

One of the favorites to win the historic award, handed out by France Football, is sure to be Brazilian legend Marta, while Holland’s Lieke Martens and Germany’s Dzsenifer Marozsan will also be among the frontrunners.

Completing the 15 nominees are Norway’s Ada Hegerberg and Pernille Harder, France and Lyon trio Amandine Henry, Amel Majri and Wendie Renard, Australia’s Sam Kerr, Canada’s Christine Sinclair, Germany’s Dzsenifer Marozsan and Japan’s Saki Kumagai

Below is a recap of the list in full.