PFA Players’ Player of the Year award nominees announced

Getty Images

The Premier League players nominated for the PFA Players’ Player of the Year and Young Player of the Years awards have been announced.

[ VIDEO: Premier League highlights ]

These are the players their fellow professionals are voting for as the best of the best.

Virgil Van Dijk, Raheem Sterling, Sergio Aguero, Eden Hazard, Bernardo Silva and Sadio Mane have all been recognized for the main award, with Trent Alexander-Arnold, David Brooks, Marcus Rashford, Declan Rice, Bernardo Silva and Raheem Sterling all nominated.

It is likely Sterling could win both awards, but more likely is Virgil van Dijk winning the main award and Sterling being named the Young Player of the Year so that the two outstanding players in the PL this season are both recognized. Van Dijk has led Liverpool’s title charge and Sterling has been the talisman for Man City, as both teams push for the Premier League title heading into the final weeks of the season.

In truth, it should be a straight battle between Van Dijk and Sterling for the Player of the Year and then either Declan Rice or Marcus Rashford should pick up the young player award for their breakout campaigns. Rice would be a favorite in that regard, but Rashford has taken his game to new levels this season for United.

Below is the shortlist in full for both awards, as the winners will be announced on April 28 at the PFA end of season awards dinner.