Nominees revealed for FIFA Coach of the Year award

Getty Images

FIFA have revealed their 10 nominees for the “Coach of the Year” award.

Comprising of managers who coach at the club and international level, there is a wide range of coaches with four managers coming from European club soccer.

The Premier League is well represented when it comes to nominees, as Pep Guardiola, Jurgen Klopp and Mauricio Pochettino are all included.

National team coaches who excelled over the past 12 months include Ricardo Gareca who led Peru to the Copa America final, while Djamel Belmadi who the Africa Cup of Nations with Algeria and Fernando Santos led Portugal to the UEFA Nations League title.

Below is a look at list of nominees in full, as Klopp will fancy his chances after Liverpool’s Champions League success, but so too will Guardiola after he led Man City to a domestic treble.

But, would someone like Pochettino or Ajax’s Erik ten Hag actually deserve this award more due to the miracles they worked with their respective teams given the resources at their disposal?

The winner will be announced in Milan on September 23 at FIFA’s The Best awards.

Djamel Belmadi (Algeria)
Didier Deschamps (France)
Marcelo Gallardo (River Plate)
Ricardo Gareca (Peru)
Pep Guardiola (Manchester City)
Jurgen Klopp (Liverpool)
Mauricio Pochettino (Tottenham Hotspur)
Fernando Santos (Portugal)
Erik ten Hag (Ajax)
Tite (Brazil)