Getty Images

Nominees revealed for FIFA Coach of the Year award

Leave a comment

FIFA have revealed their 10 nominees for the “Coach of the Year” award.

Comprising of managers who coach at the club and international level, there is a wide range of coaches with four managers coming from European club soccer.

The Premier League is well represented when it comes to nominees, as Pep Guardiola, Jurgen Klopp and Mauricio Pochettino are all included.

National team coaches who excelled over the past 12 months include Ricardo Gareca who led Peru to the Copa America final, while Djamel Belmadi who the Africa Cup of Nations with Algeria and Fernando Santos led Portugal to the UEFA Nations League title.

Below is a look at list of nominees in full, as Klopp will fancy his chances after Liverpool’s Champions League success, but so too will Guardiola after he led Man City to a domestic treble.

But, would someone like Pochettino or Ajax’s Erik ten Hag actually deserve this award more due to the miracles they worked with their respective teams given the resources at their disposal?

The winner will be announced in Milan on September 23 at FIFA’s The Best awards.

Djamel Belmadi (Algeria)
Didier Deschamps (France)
Marcelo Gallardo (River Plate)
Ricardo Gareca (Peru)
Pep Guardiola (Manchester City)
Jurgen Klopp (Liverpool)
Mauricio Pochettino (Tottenham Hotspur)
Fernando Santos (Portugal)
Erik ten Hag (Ajax)
Tite (Brazil)

Algeria wins Africa Cup of Nations

Photo by Khaled DESOUKI / AFP
Leave a comment

In the words of a Missouri-born rapper, you only get one shot. In Algeria’s case in the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations, that was true and it was all the Desert Foxes needed to claim their first AFCON title since 1990 with a 1-0 defeat of Senegal on Friday at Cairo International Stadium in Cairo.

Baghdad Bounedjah’s wildly-deflected second minute shot was enough to give Algeria its second AFCON crown.

Senegal out shot Algeria 11-1 on the day, but Sadio Mane and Co. couldn’t find their way over the goal line.

One-time Man City and Southampton player Djamel Belmadi has now managed an AFCON winner and a Gulf Cup of Nations champion (Qatar, 2014).

[ MORE: Ballon d’Or w/o Messi, Ronaldo? ]

Bounedjah’s wild rip after a cut-in from the left bounded into the air and looped into the far corner. Senegal goalkeeper Amigo Gomis made it look more odd with his befuddlement (Scramble, my guy!).

Referee Neant Alioum’s ruling of a penalty to Senegal after Ismaila Sarr’s rip hit the arm of Adlene Guedioura was overturned when review showed the Algeria midfielder’s arm was at his side.

We mean, was this going to be the goal that won Africa’s most important tournament? Yep.

LIVE, AFCON: Senegal v. Algeria in a star-studded final

Photo credit should read GABRIEL BOUYS/AFP/Getty Images
Leave a comment

The final major tournament of the summer of 2019 is here, at long last: Senegal v. Algeria in the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations final in Cairo, Egypt.

[ FOLLOW LIVE: Friday’s Africa Cup of Nations final ]

Algeria is certainly the more tested of the two sides, at least through the knockout rounds, as they’ve have to go through Guinea, Ivory Coast and Nigeria. Senegal, on the other hand, beat Uganda, Benin and Tunisia on their way to the final.

Follow all of the action live by clicking on the link above, and check back on PST for a full recap after the final whistle.

Friday’s final

Senegal v. Algeria — 3 p.m. ET

VIDEO: Mahrez sends Algeria to AFCON final with game’s last kick

Photo by Ulrik Pedersen/NurPhoto via Getty Images
Leave a comment

CAIRO (AP) Riyad Mahrez scored from a free kick in the fifth minute of injury time for Algeria to beat Nigeria 2-1 on Sunday and progress to the African Cup of Nations final against Senegal.

[ MORE: Wacky extra-time own goal sends Senegal to final ]

Mahrez thundered his left-footed shot into the top corner in effectively the last kick of the game to stunningly settle the semifinal at Cairo International Stadium.

Algeria led through an own-goal by William Troost-Ekong but was pegged back when Nigeria was given a penalty for handball after a long VAR referral by the referee, who initially didn’t award the spot-kick.

Nigeria took its opportunity – contentious as it was – to level at 1-1 from the spot through Odion Ighalo.

But Algeria captain Mahrez won it at the very death to send his team to its first final since it won its only African title nearly 30 years ago.

Senegal and Sadio Mane went through to the final earlier after beating Tunisia 1-0 in an extra-time thriller.

FOLLOW LIVE – AFCON semifinals features two enticing matchups

Getty Images
Leave a comment

The Africa Cup of Nations has seen a host of upsets through the knockout round, but still the top three FIFA-ranked sides in Africa have reached the semifinals of the competition as the tournament nears a thrilling conclusion.

[ LIVE: Africa Cup of Nations scores ]

First up, Senegal and Tunisia – the top two FIFA-ranked teams in Africa – meet in Cairo. Sadio Mane leads Senegal into the semifinals, one of four players in the tournament with three goals, battling Algeria’s Adam Ounas and Nigeria’s Odion Ighalo for top scorer in the competition.

Senegal has won its last two matches by a 1-0 score, squeaking past Uganda and Benin in its two knockout-stage wins. They’ll have their biggest defensive test yet against a Tunisia side that put three past Madagascar last time out in the team’s first victory of the tournament having drawn all of its previous four matches.

In the later bout, Nigeria takes on cinderella story Algeria, who came into the competition ranked 68th in the world and have reached their first AFCON semifinals since winning their only title in 1990. Algeria has conceded just a single goal all tournament, to Ivory Coast last time out in the 1-1 draw that saw them advance via penalties. Nigeria, meanwhile, has needed a pair of second-half winners to get them past Cameroon and South Africa in the knockout stage in exciting one-goal wins.

2019 Africa Cup of Nations schedule – Sunday, July 14

Senegal v. Tunisia – 12 p.m. ET
Algeria v. Nigeria – 3 p.m. ET