Cristiano Ronaldo captures Best Male Player at FIFA awards

Leave a comment

The yearly debate as to whom the best player in the world is won’t be settled in the minds of fans across the globe, but on Monday, FIFA gave its two cents.

Real Madrid attacker Cristiano Ronaldo took home Best Male Player honors at the FIFA Best awards, beating out Lionel Messi and Neymar for the title.

[ MORE: Mbappe wins Golden Boy award, beats out Pulisic, others ]

Meanwhile, all three superstars were named in the FIFA Best XI for the year, alongside the likes of Italian goalkeeper Gianluigi Buffon and Andres Iniesta.

Here’s a look at some of the other winners from Monday’s FIFA awards.

Best Male Player: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)

FIFA World XI: Gianluigi Buffon; Dani Alves, Sergio Ramos, Leonardo Bonucci, Marcelo; Luka Modric, Toni Kroos, Andres Iniesta; Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo, Neymar.

FIFA Men’s Coach of 2017: Zinedine Zidane (Real Madrid)

Puskas Award for Best Goal: Olivier Giroud (Arsenal)

Best Female Player: Lieke Martens (Netherlands)

Cristiano Ronaldo wins 2016 FIFA World Player of the Year (VIDEO)

Leave a comment

Cristiano Ronaldo has been named as the best player on the planet for a fourth time in his glittering career.

[ MORE: FIFPro World XI announced

In FIFA’s newly launched “The Best Awards” Ronaldo, 31, won the top individual award ahead of Barcelona’s Lionel Messi and Atletico Madrid’s Antoine Griezmann.

Speaking in Zurich, Switzerland on Monday, the Real Madrid star was delighted.

“As I mentioned many times, last year was a dream year,” Ronaldo said. “With Real Madrid we win the Champions League and with the national team we won the first time in history. Uneliavable season. So proud and happy. I have to say thank you to my teammates in Real Madrid and the national team and the coaches. Amazing year.”

Ronaldo has previously won this award in 2008, 2013 and 2014 as the tussle between himself and Messi for world dominance has dominated much of the past decade.

The award was handed out in a glitzy ceremony as FIFA started up its own awards ceremony after sharing the Ballon d’Or award with France Football from 2010-15 which formerly crowned its best player.

Ronaldo also won the Ballon d’Or for 2016 and it is not difficult to understand why.

The Portuguese forward scored 51 goals in 48 games in all competitions for Real Madrid in the 2015-16 season and led them to the UEFA Champions League tittle against crosstown rivals Atletico Madrid. Ronaldo was then influential in Portugal winning EURO 2016 as he captained his nation to its first-ever major trophy.

That victory cemented Ronaldo’s spot among the legends of the game, if that was ever in any doubt, and this final award for his heroics in 2016 was well deserved as he continues his personal quest with Messi.

In terms of World Player of the Year awards the scoreline now reads: Messi 5-4 Ronaldo.

USWNT’s Carli Lloyd wins 2016 FIFA Women’s Player of the Year

Leave a comment


U.S. women’s national team captain Carli Lloyd has won the 2016 FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year award.

[ MORE: Ronaldo wins men’s award ]

Lloyd, 34, has been crowned as the best player on the planet for the second-straight year as the Houston Dash midfielder continued to drive on the U.S. in 2016.

Speaking at FIFA’s The Best awards in Zurich, Switzerland, on Monday, Lloyd looked shocked to receive the accolade ahead of Germany’s Melanie Behringer and Brazil’s Marta.

“I honestly wasn’t expecting this,” Lloyd said. “I wouldn’t be standing up here without the help of my teammates. I also want to thank Jill Ellis and the coaching staff for really believing in me and really helping to evolve my game.”

In 2016 Lloyd scored 15 goals in 11 games for the USWNT and she was the captain of the U.S. side which suffered a shock defeat to Sweden in the quarterfinals of the 2016 Olympics in Rio.

Lloyd’s award marks the third time int he last five years that an American has won the voted as the best female player on the planet.

Claudio Ranieri named 2016 FIFA Coach of the Year

Leave a comment

There was only going to be one winner.

[ MORE: Ronaldo wins top award ]

Claudio Ranieri was named as the best coach on the planet in 2016 at FIFA’s The Best awards on Monday.

Ranieri, 65, led Leicester City to one of the greatest upsets in sporting history as the 5000-1 shots for the Premier League title at the start of the 2015-16 season beat everyone to the crown in stunning fashion.

It was truly one of the most amazing moments in soccer history as the world watched on in disbelief.

Accepting his award from Argentine legend Diego Maradona in Zurich, Switzerland on Monday, Ranieri was as humble as ever.

“To win this award I am crazy now. Thank you so much to those who voted me. I want to thank my family, my wife, my agent, my chairman and my players,” Ranieri said. “I think what happened last season was amazing. It was something strange because the football gods said ‘Leicester must win. Only this, only this!'”

Ranieri beat Real Madrid’s Zinedine Zidane and Portugal’s Fernando Santos to this award.

FIFPro World XI for 2016 announced

Leave a comment

What a team this is.

On Monday at the FIFA “The Best” awards in Zurich, Switzerland, the FIFPro World XI of 2016 was announced.

The best 11 players in the world were selected by 26,516 professional players around the globe who cast their votes, and Barcelona and Real Madrid dominated once again.

Cristiano Ronaldo, Sergio Ramos, Marcelo, Toni Kroos and Luka Modric were all included, as where Barcelona’s Gerard Pique, Andres Iniesta, Luis Suarez and Lionel Mess plus Dani Alves who started 2016 with Barca and ended it with Juventus. The lone representative from the Bundesliga is Bayern Munich goalkeeper Manuel Neuer.

Below is the FIFPro World XI for 2016 in full.

FIFPro World XI in 2016

Manuel Neuer

Dani Alves, Gerard Pique, Sergio Ramos, Marcelo

Luka Modric, Toni Kroos, Andres Iniesta

Lionel Messi, Luis Suarez, Cristiano Ronaldo