Photo by Vaughn Ridley/Getty Images

Vanney, Morgan, Pulisic earn major CONCACAF Awards

Leave a comment

CONCACAF announced its Male and Female Players of the Year on Monday — Keylor Navas and Alex Morgan — and rolled out the rest of their honors a day later.

Toronto FC coach Greg Vanney was named Male Coach of the Year for the confederation on Tuesday, while Christian Pulisic restored an American male to the CONCACAF Best XI after a year with no winner.

Portland Thorns backstop Adrianna Franch nipped countrywoman Ashlyn Harris (Orlando Pride) to the CONCACAF Female Goalkeeper of the Year.

[ REPORT: Chelsea, Arsenal, United chase Zaha ]

Pulisic slides into a 3-4-3 with Navas, Cristian Gamboa, Hector Moreno, Kendall Waston, Roman Torres, Bryan Ruiz, Hector Herrera, Wilde-Donald Guerrier, Hirving Lozano, and Alberth Elis.

Waston, Torres, and Elis play in MLS.

The Female Best XI was predictable USWNT-heavy, with Marta and Jessie Fleming the only foreign players in the team. The U.S. players are: Franch, Abby Dahlkemper, Ali Krieger, Becky Sauerbrunn, Emily Menges, Allie Long, Carli Lloyd, Lindsay Horan, and Morgan.

2017 CONCACAF Awards shortlist revealed

AP Photo/John Raoux
Leave a comment

The 2017 CONCACAF Awards shortlist is up, and fan voting counts.

Jozy Altidore, Clint Dempsey, and Christian Pulisic are among the nominees for Men’s Player of the Year. Philadelphia Union’s Jamaican backstop, Andre Blake, is also on the list along with Javier “Chicharito” Hernandez and others.

[ MORE: Big American Soccer Survey results ]

The Female Player of the Year is predictably American-heavy, with Alex Morgan, Carli Lloyd, Becky Sauerbrunn, Julie Ertz, Megan Rapinoe, Sam Mewis, and Tobin Heath competing with a trio of international players.

Tim Howard is the only American up for Male Goalkeeper of the Year, though Blake is again in the running. The female side has American backstops Adrianna Franch, Alyssa Naeher, Ashlyn Harris, Jane Campbell, and Nicole Barnhart.

The full ballot, including Best XI, coaches, referees, and goals, is up for your votes here.

USMNT snub: No US players in CONCACAF Best XI of 2016

Getty Images
1 Comment

Well, this is a little surprising.

[ MORE: Griezmann needed at United ]

CONCACAF released its Best XI from 2016 on Wednesday and there were zero U.S. national team players in the list of 11.


Players from Mexico and Costa Rica dominate, while Canadian midfielder Atiba Hutchinson, Jamaican defender Wes Morgan and French forward Andre-Pierre Gignac were also included. The top 11 players were selected after either playing for a national team or club team in the CONCACAF region.

Only one player from Major League Soccer made the list, Ronald Mataritta of New York City FC.

Still, the fact that USMNT defenders Geoff Cameron and John Brooks didn’t get in the Best XI of 2016 after their heroics at the Copa America Centenario is quite mind-boggling. No offense against Morgan or Mexico’s Rafael Marquez, but come on. Also, surely Christian Pulisic or Jozy Altidore would have been worthy additions to this team?

Then again, when you see the highlight video below, most of the winners are shown scoring or playing well against the USMNT. That could go a little way to explain why there are no U.S. players on this list…

Below is the team in full. Intrigued to hear your comments in the section below.

2015 CONCACAF Awards feature bevy of MLS, Premier League, U.S. players

AP Photo/Michael Perez
1 Comment

Last year, Tim Howard and Abby Wambach claimed top honors for male goalkeeper and female player, respectively, in the CONCACAF Awards.

On Tuesday, we received the list of players competing to follow suit, as well as those nominated for several other big name awards in the “2015” edition of the awards.

[ MORE: Bremen GM compares Jordan Morris to a hockey player ]

Voting is open now, and here are your Premier League, USMNT, USWNT and Major League Soccer players on the ballot. There are even college players in Canadian national teamer Kadeisha Buchanan (West Virginia) and Costa Rican star Raquel Rodriguez (Penn State).

Only one player on the Female Player of the Year list plays abroad: PSG’s Shirley Cruz (Costa Rica)

U.S. connections on CONCACAF Awards ballot

Male Player of the Year: Clint Dempsey, Michael Bradley, Cyle Larin

Female Player of the Year: Alex Morgan, Becky Sauerbrunn, Carli Lloyd, Christine Sinclair, Hope Solo, Julie Johnston, Kadeisha Buchanan, Megan Rapinoe, Raquel Rodriguez

Male Goalkeeper of the Year: Andre Blake, Brad Guzan, Tim Howard, Evan Bush, Bill Hamid.

Female Goalkeeper of the Year: Alyssa Naeher, Ashlyn Harris, Hope Solo, Erin McLeod, Hope Solo, Michele Dalton, Rosemary Chandler, Michelle Betos.

Male Coach of the Year: Caleb Porter, Jurgen Klinsmann, Jess Marsch.

Female Coach of the Year: Jill Ellis, Laura Harvey, Michelle French

Female Referee of the Year: Karen Abt, Katja Koroleva, Margaret Domka

Goal of the Year: Carli Lloyd, Lauren Holiday.


Defenders: Adrian Mariappa, Demar Phillips, Matt Besler, Maynor Figueroa, Roman Torres

Midfielders: Dax McCarty, Michael Bradley

Forwards: Clint Dempsey, Darren Mattocks, Jozy Altidore, Kei Kamara, Sebastian Giovinco


Defenders: Becky Sauerbrunn, Julie Johnston, Kadeisha Buchanan, Ali Krieger, Christie Rampone, Diana Saenz, Lixy Rodriguez, Megan Klingenberg, Rebecca Quinn.

Midfielders: Carli Lloyd, Megan Rapinoe, Ashley Lawrence, Lauren Holiday, Megan Rapinoe, Morgan Brian, Tobin Heath.

Forwards: Alex Morgan, Christine Sinclair, Raquel Rodriguez, Abby Wambach, Christen Press, Janine Beckie, Monica Ocampo.