Kadeisha Buchanan


Harkes, Buchanan named top players in NCAA Soccer

Leave a comment

The MAC Hermann Trophy winners were revealed Friday, with a very familiar surname claiming the men’s honors.

The awards, given to the players adjudged to be the best in NCAA Division I soccer, were handed out in St. Louis.

Wake Forest midfielder Ian Harkes won the men’s award, joining West Virginia women’s star Kadeisha Buchanan on the podium.

[ MORE: USSF rules on USL, NASL status ]

Harkes also joins his father and the first father-son combo to win the award.

Buchanan beat out USC midfielder Morgan Andrews and Stanford mid Andi Sullivan, while Harkes topped Maryland’s Gordon Wild and Florida Gulf Coast’s Albert Ruiz.

Past winners on the men’s side include a who’s who of USMNT stars like Claudio Reyna, Brad Friedel, Alexi Lalas, Tony Meola, Jordan Morris, Darlington Nagbe, and Jay Heaps among them.

For the women, Mia Hamm, Tisha Venturini, Kristine Lilly, Christine Sinclair, Kelley O’Hara, Christen Press, and Crystal Dunn dot the list.

Follow @NicholasMendola

Women’s Ballon d’Or nominees: Three USWNT players, West Virginia junior

AP Photo/Elaine Thompson
Leave a comment

We now know the players and coaches nominated for the highest individual honors in women’s soccer, and there are plenty of connections to the 2015 World Cup champions.

Hope Solo, Megan Rapinoe and Carli Lloyd are nominees for World Player of the Year, while USWNT coach Jill Ellis is up for World Coach of the Year.

Seattle Reign boss Laura Harvey is also up for the latter honor, and will combat the coaches for Canada and England amongst others.

[ MORE: Giggs, Neville allow homeless to stay winter in hotel ]

Another candidate for POY is plying her trade in the American college game, as West Virginia junior Kadeisha Buchanan is up for the honor.

Surprisingly, World Cup semifinalist England did not have a player on the final list.

FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year nominees
U.S. — Lloyd, Rapinoe, Solo
France — Amandine Henry, Eugenie Le Sommer
Germany — Nadine Angerer, Celia Sasic
Japan — Aya Miyama
Canada — Kadeisha Buchanan
Switzerland — Ramona Bachmann

FIFA Women’s World Coach of the Year nominees
Calle Barring – Sweden U-19
Colin Ball – FFC Frankfurt
Farid Benstiti – Paris Saint-Germain
Jill Ellis – USWNT
Laura Harvey – Seattle Reign
John Herdman – Canada
Gerard Precheur – Lyon
Mark Sampson – England
Norio Sasaki – Japan
Thomas Worle – Bayern Munich.

Carli Lloyd wins Golden Ball; Hope Solo takes home Golden Glove in WWC award ceremony


Signifying the end of the 2015 Women’s World Cup, awards were doled out paying tribute to notable individual efforts.

Following an exceptional hat-trick performance in a 5-2 win over Japan to bring home the 2015 Women’s World Cup, Carli Lloyd won the Silver Boot and Golden Ball.

Lloyd plays for the Houston Dash in the United States’ NWSL and has over 200 appearances for the Stars and Stripes.

She was joined on the shortlist for the Golden Ball by teammates Julie Johnston and Megan Rapinoe, while Celia Sasic beat out Lloyd for the Golden Boot due to the amount of minutes played.

[RELATED: Could England women’s manager be headed to the Premier League?]

The Germany international’s teammate, Anja Mittag, procured the Bronze Boot.

The Golden Glove award was given to USA goalkeeper Hope Solo, displaying her prowess as the best netminder in the world when tested. She faced competition from Germany’s Nadine Angerer and Japan’s Ayumi Kaihori.

19-year-old Canadian defender Kadeisha Buchanan, who attends West Virginia University, won the Young Player Award by anchoring Canada’s back line that gave up only three goals in five games.

The Silver Ball went to Amandine Henry of France and the Bronze Ball to Japan midfielder Aya Miyama.

Japan was given their second-place medals before FIFA executive Issa Hayatou, stepping in for president Sepp Blatter, awarded the United States with the main trophy.