PFA Team of the Season

AP Photo/Rui Vieira

Leicester City’s Riyad Mahrez named PFA Player of the Year

Leave a comment

Riyad Mahrez was the odds-on favorite for the big prize ahead of Sunday night’s Professional Footballers’ Association awards ceremony in London, and Leicester City’s Algerian winger has been named 2015-16 PFA Player of the Year.

[ FOLLOW: All of PST’s PL coverage ]

Having scored 17 goals on the season thus far, while assisting on 11 others for the current Premier League leaders, Mahrez comfortably topped his fellow Fox, Jamie Vardy (22 goals, 6 assists), and Tottenham Hotspur’s Harry Kane (24 goals, 1 assist), the other two finalists for the award. In the process, Mahrez has become the first African to win the Players’ Player of the Year award.

Along with Vardy and a few other Leicester players, Mahrez traveled to the ceremony in style following Sunday’s resounding home victory over Swansea City.

Tottenham’s Dele Alli took home the PFA Young Player of the Year award for his 10-goal, nine-assist season having only arrived at Spurs from League 1 side MK Dons this past summer.

[ MORE: Leicester hammer Swansea to move miles closer to PL title ]

Sunday’s individual awards come on the heels of the PFA Team of the Year having been unveiled earlier in the week.

PFA Team of the Year announced. Did they get it right?

Getty Images
Leave a comment

The Professional Footballers’ Association announced their Premier League Team of the Year on Thursday for the 2015-16 season.

[ MORE: Falcao interested in MLS ]

Each player playing in the PL had the chance to vote for their fellow pros and four players from both Leicester City and Tottenham Hotspur were included, while one each from Manchester United, Arsenal and West Ham made up the XI.

Leicester’s players included were Wes Morgan, N'Golo Kante, Riyad Mahrez and Jamie Vardy, while Toby Alderweireld, Danny Rose, Dele Alli and Harry Kane got the nod for Spurs.

[ MORE: Hummels transfer speculation ]

Manchester United’s David De Gea was named the best goalkeeper, while West Ham United’s playmaker Dimitri Payet and Arsenal’s right back Hector Bellerin were also included.

Below is the team in full:

Do we agree with the 11 players selected? To me, mostly, they got it spot on.

Vardy and Kane were the standout strikers, while the back four of Rose, Alderweireld, Morgan and Bellerin all deserved it. That said, if we were tweaking the formation maybe Bellerin could have been omitted and Robert Huth could’ve been included in a three-man defense with Alderweireld and Morgan.

However, the players are asked to select the best right back, two center backs and left back on their ballot. Nathaniel Clyne, Danny Simpson and Kyle Walker will be disappointed not to get a shout at right back, while Ryan Bertrand and Christian Fuchs must have been close to get the nod at left back.

De Gea again got the nod but Hugo Lloris can feel hard done by as the Frenchman has skippered the best defense in the PL impressively and does all of the simple things so well and with minimum fuss. He is also one of the most agile human beings on the planet.

In midfield Alli, Kante, Mahrez and Payet are all worthy, with Manchester City’s Kevin De Bruyne, Tottenham’s Eric Dier and Arsenal’s Mesut Ozil unlucky to miss out.

Up front, the only other players close to getting a look in where Romelu Lukaku and Sergio Aguero.

All in all, it’s hard to argue with the PFA’s selections with the both Leicester and Tottenham heavily represented in banner years for both clubs.

PFA Team of the Year announced: 6 Blues lead the way

Leave a comment

A whopping six Chelsea players have been selected as part of the PFA Team of the Year,  representing their likely title run in somewhat dominating fashion, but also leaving out a host of other Premier League stars.

All three main outfield positions featured at least one Chelsea player, meaning just five other clubs made an appearance. Among the others include Arsenal’s Alexis Sanchez, leaving no room for his teammate Santi Cazorla. 30-goal man Harry Kane is deservedly next to Diego Costa up front, trailing Sergio Aguero by just one goal in the Premier League scoring table.

The defense features a whopping three Blues, as both central defenders John Terry and Gary Cahill appear alongside right-back Branislav Ivanovic. Only Nathaniel Clyne of Southampton breaks the Chelsea blue at the back, a player heavily rumored to leave St. Mary’s at the end of the season. There was no room for Clyne’s teammate Jose Fonte, however, pushed out by the Terry-Cahill partnership despite a highly rated season.

At the back is Manchester United goalkeeper David de Gea, far and away the best shot stopper this season in the English top flight at just 24 years old, beating out his 22-year-old counterpart at Stamford Bridge in Thibaut Courtois.


GK: David de Gea (Manchester United)

DEF: Ryan Bertrand (Southampton), John Terry (Chelsea), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Branislav Ivanovic (Chelsea)

MID: Eden Hazard (Chelsea), Philippe Coutinho (Liverpool), Nemanja Matic (Chelsea), Alexis Sanchez (Arsenal)

ST: Harry Kane (Tottenham), Diego Costa (Chelsea)