Puskas award

Puksas Award finalists: Somehow absent is USWNT’s Carli Lloyd


FIFA announced on Monday its three-man list of finalists for the 2015 Puskas Award, handed out each year to the player who scored the “most beautiful” goal of the past calendar year.

[ MORE: 2015 Ballon d’Or finalists ]

The three men up for this year’s honor are Alessandro Florenzi (WATCH HERE), Lionel Messi (WATCH HERE) and Wendell Lira (WATCH HERE) — all scorers of fantastically beautiful goals this year.

That means Carli Lloyd, who made the original list of nominees before being whittled down to just three, is shockingly tragically scandalously criminally not a finalist for this year’s award. Reminder: This is the goal we’re talking about.

[ MORE: Timbers reach first MLS Cup | Crew SC to host MLS Cup 2015 ]

So, here’s the case for Lloyd:

  • She scored from midfield
  • She scored the winner from midfield in a World Cup final
  • She scored the winner from midfield in a World Cup final to complete a hat trick
  • She scored the winner from midfield in a World Cup final to complete a hat trick in the 16th minute

How in the world is Carli Lloyd’s midfield goal to complete a 16-minute hat trick and win a World Cup final not a top-three goal of the year? You got some (more) explaining to do, FIFA.

Puskas Award finalist Stephanie Roche coming to NWSL with Houston Dash

Leave a comment

Irish international and Puskas Award finalist Stephanie Roche is bringing her act Stateside.

The 25-year-old striker has found a job playing for Randy Waldrum and the Houston Dash, and her game is bigger than the wonder goal that earned her a trip to Zurich for the Ballon D’Or ceremony (Her goal finished second to James Rodriguez for the Puskas).

Roche has four goals in 28 appearances for the Republic of Ireland national team, and is leaving ASPTT Albi in the Division 1 Féminine, France’s top flight, due to problems with the language barrier.

[ MORE: Tim Howard still plans to retire at Everton ]

Which brings her to Houston, where she can latch onto through balls and crosses from new teammates Carli Lloyd, Morgan Brian and Meghan Klingenberg.

Waldrum says she could be the best Irish goal scorer since all-time leader Olivia O’Toole. Roche is ready for the challenge of being an Irish trendsetter in Texas, according to Independent.ie:

source: AP“No Irish woman has ever gone over to play in the NWSL so it is going to be a big challenge for me,” Roche said.

“I am under no illusions it is going to be easy. I am going to have to work hard and get my place in the team so I am really looking forward to getting over and meeting my team-mates and getting to know them better.

Here’s the goal, in case you forgot:

James Rodriguez goal against Uruguay wins Puskas Award for goal of the year


Hungarian legend Ference Puskas scored a boatload of goals in his career for Budapest Honved and Real Madrid, and he scored them with a style that put his name on the trophy for goal of the year.

The Puskas Award nominees were goals from James Rodriguez and Robin van Persie at the World Cup, and surprise candidate Stephanie Roche from Ireland, whose stunning juggle, volley and turn is among the best goals you’ll see in your life.

[ MORE: World XI revealed | Low wins COY award ]

The goal was similar to James goal in the World Cup, and perhaps the grander stage is the reason the Real Madrid star is taking home the Puskas Award.

VIDEO: Which goal should win FIFA’s Puskas award as best of 2014?


On Wednesday the shortlist for the “Puskas award” was released by FIFA.

World soccer’s governing body have selected their top 10 goals from the 2014 season and you can vote on which goal should be crowned as the best in the globe during over the past 12 months.

[ VIDEO: Premier League highlights ]

Robin van Persie, Tim Cahill, Zlatan Ibrahimovic, James Rodriguez and Diego Costa are some familiar names on the list, as goals from any officials match could be selected to become a finalist.

Below are video clips of all 10 goals, with the order of who scored listed underneath, as you can vote for your favorite via FIFA’s official website right here and debate which cracker is the best in the comments section below. Enjoy sifting through these goals. I certainly did.

Camilo Sanvezzo

Diego Costa

Hisato Sato

James Rodriguez

Marco Fabian

Pajtim Kasami

Robin van Persie

Stephanie Roache

Tim Cahill

Zlatan Ibrahimovic