Rachel Van Hollebeke

US Soccer web site accidentally posts USWNT roster, takes it down


US Soccer inadvertently released the roster for the upcoming women’s CONCACAF championship next month.

The organization put it up on the US Soccer web site, but has since taken it down. Several media outlets have run with it.

The CONCACAF championship determines which teams enter next year’s World Cup in Canada.

[ USWNT: Wambach leads turf World Cup lawsuit ]

Hope Solo is in, along with fellow goalkeeper Ashlyn Harris. Veterans Christie Rampone, Amy Rodriguez and Abby Wambach also made the cut.

Notably missing? Not too many, but Rachel Van Hollebeke and her 112 caps, and Stephanie Cox (89 caps) aren’t on the list.

The Associated Press reports:

U.S. Soccer said the roster will be officially announced Monday. It has since been taken down from ussoccer.com.

The championships for soccer’s North and Central American and Caribbean region, an eight-team, round-robin tournament that will be played in four U.S. cities, opens Oct. 15 in Kansas City, Kansas.

The roster also includes defenders Crystal Dunn, Whitney Engen, Meghan Klingenberg, Ali Krieger, Kelley O’Hara and Becky Sauerbrunn, midfielders Morgan Brian, Tobin Heath, Lauren Holiday, Carli Lloyd, Heather O’Reilly and Megan Rapinoe, and forwards Sydney Leroux, Alex Morgan and Christen Press.

Watch Live: USWNT vs. China PR (Lineups and Discuss)

Leave a comment

As we laid out earlier in our match preview, the buzz surrounding a mid-April friendly between the United States women’s national team and a China PR team they’ve routinely beaten is anything but ordinary (Watch live from California at 11pm ET on NBCSN and online via Live Extra).

After beating tonight’s opponents 2-0 on Sunday — but truly controlling everything but their finishing — the USWNT underwent a major shakeup later that night, as US Soccer fired head coach Tom Sermanni after just 15 months on the job.

Jill Ellis is back at the helm for her second interim stint in the last year-and-a-half. During her last go at the gig, she finished unbeaten at 5-0-2.

Lauren Holiday and Megan Rapinoe scored for the States in Sunday’s win.

There are two changes to the Starting XI from Sunday, with Whitney Engen and Christen Press departing from the lineup in favor of veterans Megan Rapinoe and Rachel Van Hollebeke (Buehler).

The match is Hope Solo’s 150th cap.



United States: Solo; Krieger, Van Hollebeke, Sauerbrunn-C, Klingenberg; Brian, Lloyd, Rapinoe; O’Reilly, Holiday, Leroux

Subs: O’Hara, Engen, Rodriguez, Heath, Naeher, Wambach, Press

China PR: Zhang Yue; Wang Lingling, Zeng Ying, Li Dongna, Liu Shanshan; Wang Shanshan, Ren Guixin, Zhang Rui, Zhang Xin; Li Ying, Yang Li

Subs: Wang Yun; Xu Yanlu, Huang Yini, Gao Qi, Wan Chen, Li Xiangli, Han Peng, Zhou Feifei, Wang Lisi, Lou Jiahui, Song Duan